John Paiva Picks Up Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Round Two at Seekonk; Vanasse, Pelland III and Bettencourt Jr Also Win

RaceChaser Staff Northeast 0 Comments

June 29, 2013 Seekonk Speedway PR – Ryan Vanasse picked up his first win of the 2013 season, shaking off a rough start. Kevin Folan brought the field down to the green, but the A&A Auto Parts Chevy quickly jumped out front and showed that he had the car to beat. Folan hung onto second until Ken Spencer moved past, and fell to fourth as Fred Astle got by. Astle worked his way quickly by Spencer and tried to hunt down Vanasse. Bobby Pelland III was fifth at the halfway point.

As the leaders hit the three-quarter mark, Vanasse and Astle were in lapped traffic, and on lap 34, Astle made contact with the lapped car of Elmer Wing, cutting down his right front tire, bringing out the caution. Spencer had one shot to make it into the lead, and Ken put Janine’s Machine through its paces on the outside for the final six laps, edging out Vanasse on lap 35. But that was all he could muster, as Vanasse took back Darling over and picked up his first win of the season, getting to celebrate with the RI Shriners clowns. Spencer, Folan, Dick Houlihan and Dave Darling rounded out the top five.

1) Ryan Vanasse 2) Ken Spencer 3) Kevin Folan 4) Dick Houlihan 5) Tom Scully Jr 6) Dave Darling 7) Fred Astle Jr 8) Bobby Pelland III 9) Kevin Casper 10) Mike Brightman 11) Bob Hussey 12) Dave Silvia 13) Tom Scully Sr 14) Darryl Stampfl 15) Cory Cleary 16) Dick Benoit 17) Billy Joerres 18) Mike Mitchell 19) Elmer Wing III 20) Kyle Casper

Bobby Pelland III has been fast, but unlucky so far in 2013. His luck may have just changed when he picked up the 30 lap LM win on Saturday. Pelland started outside Ron Barboza, and quickly moved past on the green to take the lead, Barboza held on for several laps before opening day winner Jeramee Lillie moved into second. Current point leader Bill Bernard was right behind, taking third just a couple of laps later.

As the field crossed at the halfway point, Bernard moved past Lille, and the Cardiac Kid started to hunt down Pelland who had an eight car length advantage. Pelland was not going to be caught, as he held on for the RI Shriners victory. Bernard was second, with Gerry DeGasparre, Lille and Dave Hutchins Jr third through fifth.

1) Bobby Pelland III 2) Bill Bernard 3) Gerry DeGasparre Jr 4) Jeramee Lille 5) Dave Hutchins Jr 6) Ron Barboza Jr 7) Ryan Lineham 8) Dylan Estrella 9) Joe Kohler 10) Tyler Thompson 11) Mike Marfeo

John Paiva picked up his third win if the season in the second leg of the Phil’s Propane Triple Crown Series. Lenny Guy was the driver who led the first couple of laps before Rob Murphy picked up the top of the standings. Murphy seemed to be in control until a lap 13 caution came out. On the restart, Rick Martin took over, and set the pace.

On a lap 19 caution, the whole complexion of the race changed. While under caution, Rob Murphy’s Chevy broke, taking him out of contention. While Martin and now Paiva came down for the green, the start was waved off, and Martin penalized for an improper restart. This handed the lead to Paiva with Barry Shaw lined up next to him.

Martin was eliminated on a lap 21 incident, when Anna Gregoire spun, and Martin made contact trying to avoid her. Over the final several laps, Paiva and Shaw raced wheel to wheel, swapping the lead back and forth several times, with Shaw officially leading three laps in that exchange. As the laps wound down, Scott Dion, who was involved in an opening lap incident, moved past Shaw, and wrestled second away. Shaw finished third, with Murphy coming back for fourth and Brandon Dion fifth.

1) John Paiva 2) Scott Dion 3) Barry Shaw 4) Rob Murphy 5) Brandon Dion 6) Lenny Guy 7) Darryl Church 8) John Letourneau 9) Nick Uhrig 10) Mike Duarte 11) Frank Duquette 12) Dane Saritelli 13) Anna Gregoire 14) Bill Schoeler 15) Chase Belcher 16) Joey Wakefield 17) Jim Hawkins 18) Rick Martin 19) Bob Rainville 20) Billy Clarke

Bob Bettencourt shook off the disappointment of two weeks ago, and redeemed himself and his team in picking up the 25 lap RI Shriners Street Stock main event. Jimmy Belmont jumped into the early lead, only to be overtaken on the second lap by Bettencourt. Craig Pianka moved into second for a few laps before Scott Bruneau took over the runner up position. At the halfway point, John Hanafin moved into third, with Pianka and Paul Lallier rounding out the top five.

The top five ran that way through a lap 20 restart. As the field crossed for lap 21, Bruneau got a little loose off the fourth corner. While he held on, Charlie Baldwin, who was up to fourth on the restart, backed off a little, only to be hit by a spinning Pianka, which sent Baldwin on two wheels as he rode the front stretch wall.

Hanafin moved into second after the restart, but could not close in on the former champion, and had to settle for the second week in a row. Bruneau, Charles Beal and Rey Lovelace rounded out the top five. Scott Serydynski was the Simpson’s Auto Care Lucky Draw winner of $100.

1) Bobby Bettencourt Jr 2) John Hanafin 3) Scott Bruneau 4) Charles Beal 5) Rey Lovelace 6) Scott Serydynski 7) Crystal Serydynski 8) Gerard Berthelette 9) Craig Pianka 10) Austin Blais 11) Paul Lallier 12) Joe Melberg 13) Jeff Ellis 14) Jimmy Belmont 15) Charlie Baldwin 16) Chris DeMoura 17) Randy Moretti 18) Robert Gay 19) Tim Eaton 20) Darryl Perry 21) Ray Negley

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.