ISMA: King of Wings VIII on Deck at Oswego Speedway; Mike Lichty Seeking Third Crown

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast, Supermodifieds 1 Comment

The ISMA Supermodifieds make their return to Oswego Speedway on Saturday for the eighth annual King of Wings weekend. (Bob Clark photo)

The ISMA Supermodifieds make their return to Oswego Speedway on Saturday for the eighth annual King of Wings weekend. (Bob Clark photo)

OSWEGO, N.Y. – The ISMA Supermodifieds and the Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers return to Oswego Speedway on July 9 for the eighth edition of the prestigious King of Wings presented by Holiday Inn Express and Suites and Helena Chemical Company.

King of Wings VIII will mark the second round of the Shea Concrete ‘Steel Palace’ ISMA Super Series at the Speedway, bringing the best in winged Supermodified racing to the Port City for the right to wear the crown that comes along with a King of Wings championship.

Joining the ISMA Supermodified 50-lap King of Wings VIII main event will be the next round in the Road to the Championship for Oswego’s Pathfinder Bank Small Block Supers.

Since the inaugural King of Wings in 2009, a total of six different drivers have claimed the coveted title.

Charlie Schultz was the first champion of the of the popular summer spectacular, out-gunning then-teammate Tim Ice, Mike Lichty, Ray Graham, and Chris Perley for the title.

In 2010, Bob Bond earned his first career Supermodified win in the King of Wings, driving his own No. 25 Supermodified to victory with Ice again settling for second.

The 2011 running would see a third different winner, but again the same runner-up. This time it was Mike Lichty leading Ice across the line for the win with Timmy Jedrzejek, Trent Stephens and Randy Ritskes filling the top five.

The King of Wings main in 2012 was one for the record books, with longtime Supermodified car owner Steve Miller finally grabbing his first main event win with Dave Gruel IV wheeling the Sweet 16 to victory. Johnny Benson, Schultz, Lou Cicconi and Jedrzejek were the top five.

In 2013 the King of Wings would see its first repeat winner as Lichty flew to victory over Dave Shullick Jr., Ben Seitz, Ice, and Jeff Locke.

2014 saw another name added to the illustrious list of King of Wings champions as Shullick stormed to the payday over Perley, Lichty, Locke, and Seitz.

And last season the sixth different winner’s name was etched in history as multi-time track champion Otto Sitterly earned his first ISMA Supermodified win with a spectacular run over Alison Cumens, Perley, Danny Shirey, and Jedrzejek.

Lichty returns to Oswego this weekend in search of his third King of Wings title and carrying the hot hand at the Big O, having won the Jack Murphy Memorial at the Speedway on May 28 and resetting the track record during that event with a lap of 14.730 seconds.

CREDIT: Oswego Speedway

Comments 1

  1. Did the non-winged cars run at some other event on July 9th?
    For the first time they did NOT run the non-winged cars along with the ISMA winged cars and the SBS mods.
    And it definitely showed in the Grand Stands, attendance was sparse. Had we noted closely that the non-winged cars would not be there, we would have not attended.
    Admission price was the normal $30 also.
    We’re disappointed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.