GSPSS: Ramstorm Wins the Battle, Moltz The Granite State Pro Stock War at Thompson

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast, Other Late Models 0 Comments

THOMPSON, Conn. – official release — Matty Wiernasz/GSPSS photo —

Derek Ramstrom took advantage of a late-race flat tire on Wayne Helliwell Jr.’s Ford to claim his first victory with the Granite State Pro Stock Series at the Sunoco World Series presented by Xtramart on Sunday at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.

Helliwell and Dillon Moltz led the field at the drop of the green, as Moltz needed a top-10 finish to secure his spot atop the championship standings. After Josh King hit the turn one wall at the start of the race, Helliwell pulled away on the ensuing restart, and was poised to take his third win in the series. Ramstrom kept Helliwell in his sights, riding in the second spot. Moltz was passed by Larry Gelinas and Matt Frahm, both with a chance at the title, as the two put pressure on the RB Performance team of Moltz.

Bad luck would strike Helliwell once more at TSMP, as he ran over debris, rendering the right front tire flat with just four laps remaining. Ramstrom took advantage and grabbed the victory, but it was Dillon Moltz wearing the crown as the 2014 champion with a sixth-place finish.

A nearly out of breath Moltz said after the race: “We really worked our butts off for this. The adversity that we had to go through, we definitely deserved this. I knew I had to be smart, put pride aside and let guys go, run my own race and just run the track. Mark Brackett and Ricky Rolfe, these guys really deserved this championship.”

Ramstrom, who’s been on a tear as of late, winning the PASS 300 at Beech Ridge Speedway and the DAV Pro Stock race at Seekonk Speedway, ended the 2014 season with a bang.

“Wayne was phenomenal,” said Ramstrom. “I’m not sure I could have caught him. We were way too loose, the stagger was way off, but we lucked out.”

Both Frahm and Gelinas did everything they could to put themselves in position to challenge for the championship, just falling short. Frahm took the second spot, with Gelinas in tow in third after both drivers started in the fourth row. Brad Babb stayed hot grabbing fourth, and Jason Boyd survived an early race spin to finish fifth. Moltz, Tommy O’Sullivan, Derek Griffith, Mike Parks, and George Bessette completed the top 10.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.