CMP DIRT MODS: Gary Tomkins Takes Win #2 At The Land of Legends

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Northeast, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

CANANDAIGUA, NY — official release — Racing New York Photo — Did someone order Sunny & 75?

It was last Saturday as Canandaigua Motorsports Park and Pampered Parents welcomed in Summer with bright blue skies and perfect temperatures.  A full crowd was on hand to witness plenty of hot racing action in the six star program.

Gary Tomkins of Clifton Springs, NY captured his second win of the 2014 season aboard his Fox’s Auto/Pole Position Raceway sponsored #84 ride.  Tomkins took the lead away from Gil Tegg on lap ten and quickly built up a four second advantage on field.  A caution on lap twenty-one would bunch up the field and put defending champion Matt Sheppard alongside of Tomkins for the restart.

The pair would put on a great show for the fans as they battled side by side, swapping the lead on several occasions.  When the checkered flew it would be Tomkins with the advantage aboard his Bicknell chassis.  Sheppard finished in the runner up position piloting his HBR Troyer #9h followed by Alan Johnson, Billy Dunn, and Steve Paine.   Mike O’Brien led the early going.

Nick Guererri of Waterloo, NY picked up his first win of the 2014 season aboard the Safety Awareness Solutions Sportsman division. They say timing is everything – well it was for Nick Guererri as he picked the perfect night to grace victory lane as it was also one of his sponsor’s nights at the track.  Pampered Parents is new to the Guererri race team and the Land of Legends – safe to say they enjoyed their first outing at CMP.

Guererri took the lead away from Jon Ellsworth on a lap nine restart and quickly distanced himself from the remainder of the field.  Guererri would take the win aboard his Troyer chassis, Gevos Rears and Gears sponsored 25g.  Dave Marcucelli, Paul Guererri, Steve Gray, and Matt Guererri rounded out the top five.  The Guererri team enjoyed a great night as all three placed in the top five.

Jon Preston enjoyed his second feature win of the season in the Dig Safely NY 305 Race Saver Sprint division.  Preston took the lead away from Nick Cooper on lap seven of the twenty lap main and quickly distanced himself from the remainder of the field.  Preston of Romulus, NY took the win by a large margin over the remainder of the field naboard his Canandaigua Seal Coating sponsored #22. Steve Doell, Darryl Ruggles, Bob Dresty, and Justin Henderson rounded out the top five.

Tim Baker of Hemlock, NY collected his third win of the season in the New Legends Sportsman division.  Baker took command of the twelve lap feature event at the drop of the green and maintained it the entire distance.  Piloting his Honeoye Auto Parts sponsored #9, Baker enjoyed a full straight away lead at the checkered.  Austin Fugle, Tate Mangiarelli, Josh Cook, and Jason Scales rounded out the top five.

Pete Stefanski of Wheatfield, NY won his sixth of the season aboard the Parts Plus Street Stock class.  Stefanski used a move to the inside of Bill Weller on lap one to take the lead.  Stefanski would pull away from the field aboard his Sunrise Racing/PJ Trailer Sales sponsored #2.  Stefanski took the win in the fifteen lap main event followed by Blane Smith, Mike Welch, Charles Harvey, and Steve Pesarak.

Nick Dandino of Macedon, NY took top honors in the Pure Stock twelve lap feature main.  Piloting the Mike Minutolo owned #52b, Dandino found himself in the right place at the right time after contact between the top two of Marc Minutolo and Vance Vanderwall resulted in the pair spinning on the final lap.  Dandino held off a persistent challenge by CJ Guererri on the final circuit to take the win.  Guererri would claim second followed by Roger Bush, Jared LaBarge, and Minutolo.  Vanderwall had led most of the feature go prior to lapped traffic playing a roll on the final lap.  Special thanks to Roger Bush who awarded bonus dollars in memory of his dad last night.  Over $400 worth of prizes were distributed.


BIG BLOCK MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH – GARY TOMKINS, Matt Sheppard, Alan Johnson, Billy Dunn, Steve Paine, Justin Haers, Peter Britten, Matt Billings, Mike Obrien, Dale Planck, Gil Tegg Jr., Chad Homan, Dave Rauscher, Eldon Payne, Vince Vitale, Dave Allen, Justin Wright, Brian Sage, Henry Maier, Jeff Brownell Jr., Jimmy Maier, Tommy Keyes, and Mike Bowman.  Heat Winners – Brian Sage, Dave Allen, and Mike Obrien

SAFETY AWARENESS SOLUTIONS SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – NICK  GUERERRI, Dave Marcucelli, Paul Guererri, Steve Gray, Matt Guererri, AJ Lloyd, James Henry, Frank Guererri Jr., Jon Ellsworth, Kane Bristol, Jeff Devolli, Rob Bussey, Frank Burnell, Eric Giguere, Dave Conant Jr., Nathan Peckham, Joe Cook, Ray Hendershot, Chris Mangiarelli, Dan West, Kevin Ridley, Ricky Newton, and Tyler Meeks. Heat Winners – Rob Bussey, Matt Guererri, and Kevin Ridley. Dash for Cash – Frank Guererri Jr.

DIG SAFELY NY 305 RACE SAVER SPRINT FEATURE FINISH – JON PRESTON, Steve Doell, Darryl Ruggles, Bob Dresty,, Justin Henderson, Nick Cooper, Alysha Ruggles, Will Glover, Don Kuhn, Sean O’Dea, and Lee Sanders. Heat Winners – Darryl Ruggles and Jon Preston.

PARTS PLUS STREET STOCK FEATURE FINISH – PETE STEFANSKI, Blane Smith, Mike Welch, Charles Harvey, Steve Pesarek, Pat Hobbs, Bill Weller, and Ron Greek. Heat Winner – Mike Welch.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH – NICK DANDINO, CJ Guererri, Roger Bush, Jared LaBarge, Marc Minutolo, Shawn Lloyd, George LaVare, Vance Vanderwall, Howard Washburn, Chris Gingerich, and Jenny Nunez. Heat Winner – Marc Minutolo.

NEW LEGENDS SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – TIM BAKER, Austin Fugle, Tate Mangiarelli, Josh Cook, Jason Scales, Ken Washburn, and Jimmy Morton.  Heat Winner – Tim Baker

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.