CANANDAIGUA: Erick Rudolph Wins First Big-Block Dirt Modified Feature At “The Land Of Legends”

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Northeast, Racing Nation, Sprints & Midgets, Super DIRTcar Series 0 Comments

CANANDAIGUA, NY — official release — Renee Galley Photo — Canandaigua Motorsports Park was a flurry of activity last Saturday night as they attempted to complete three of the held over features along with a regular full card of racing.  A total of nine features and twelve qualifying events were completed by 10:30 pm.   Great job by all!

Erick Rudolph of Ransomville, NY captured his first Big Block Modified feature last Saturday night at Canandaigua Motorsports Park.  The third generation driver is the son of multi time Land of Legends champion and recent DIRTcar Hall of Fame inductee Charlie Rudolph. Piloting the Mike Payne owned, Pages Trucking sponsored #7z – Rudolph used a move on the high side of turn four to go from third to first on lap twenty-three of the thirty-five lap main.

Rudolph would maintain the top spot through the final twelve circuits to claim his first win at the Land of Legends.  Steve Paine and Matt Sheppard put on a great show for the fans as they battled for the runner up position.  Paine would have the narrow advantage at the line aboard his HFC #7x chassis. Sheppard, Billy Dunn, and Gary Tomkins rounded out the top five.  Sheppard maintained the points lead however a rained out feature and a double points finale remain leaving the points title a race within the race.

Steve Gray of Middlesex, NY captured his fourth win of the season in the Safety Awareness Solutions Sportsman division.  Grey took the lead away from Tyler Meeks on lap sixteen of the twenty-five lap affair and quickly distanced himself from the remainder of the field.  Gray advanced from the eighteenth starting position  aboard his Proctor Enterprises/Ayers Painting #29g. James Henry enjoyed a solid second place finish followed by Meeks, Dave Marcucelli, and Paul Guererri.  Gray currently sits nineteen points behind Marcucelli in the chase for the title.

David Ferguson was victorious in the Dig Safely NY 305 Race Saver Sprint feature main.  Ferguson took the lead away from Dan Kuhn on lap fourteen of the twenty lap event and held it through the remaining distance.  The seventeen car strong field saw four lead changes amongst three different drivers.  Alysha Ruggles advanced to second followed by Kuhn, Nick Cooper, and Steve Doell.  Darryl Ruggles continues to lead the way in the points chase over his daughter Alysha.

Mike Welch of Lyons, NY won his sixty-fifth career feature last Saturday aboard the Parts Plus ProStreet division.  Welch took the lead on lap twelve after a hard core four car battle brought the fans to the edge of their seats.  Contact from Pete Stefanski sent both him and then leader Blane Smith around in turn one.  Welch would emerge the leader and maintain it through the final three circuits.

Tommy Barron came out of retirement and subbed for driver Steve Pesarak who had a prior engagement. Barron would bring the #30 car home in second followed by Ron Greek, Stefanski, and Smith.  Pete Stefanski leads the way in the points title chase with two point races remaining.

Marc Minutolo of Newark, NY captured his fifth feature win of the season in the Pure Stock division at CMP.  Minutolo took the lead away from CJ Guererri with less than a hand full of laps remaining in the twelve lap event.  Guererri would hold on for second followed by Scott Smith, Nick Dandino, and Jared LaBarge.  Just eight markers separate points leader CJ Guererri and Marc Minutolo with two features to go.

Jason Scales won his first ever feature main event aboard the New Legends Sportsman division.  Scales took the lead at the drop of the green and maintained it through the entire twelve laps.  Gus Hurlbert, Joshua Szymarski, Doug Smith, and Steve Faulkner rounded out the fop five.

Karl Comfort captured the win in the held over Safety Awareness Solutions Sportsman feature main from 8-16-14.  Comfort took the lead away from Frank Guererri Jr on lap ninteen of the twenty-five lap main to collect his first win in three years at the Land of Legends.  Piloting the Fox’s Auto sponsored #10, Comfort would hold off a hard charging Steve Gray for the win.  Gray came home in the second position followed by Dave Marcucelli, Tim Baker, and Frank Guererri Jr..

Pete Stefanski of Wheatfield, NY took top honors in the Parts Plus Pro Street feature main held over from 8-9-14.  Stefanski took the lead away from Blane Smith just prior to the half way point and quickly pulled away from the field.  Stefanski collected his eleventh win aboard his Sunrise Racing entry.  Smith held on for the runner up position followed by Steve Pesarek, Mike Welch, Bill Weller, Charles Harvey, Pat Hobbs, and Ron Greek.

Nick Dandino took top honors in the held over Pure Stock feature main from 8-9-14.  Dandino took control early on aboard the twelve lap main and held off persistent challenges by teammate Marc Minutolo in the closing laps.  Minutolo held on for second followed by Tom Juhl, CJ Guererri and Vance Vanderwall.


BIG BLOCK MODIFIED FEATURE FINISH – ERICK RUDOLPH, Steve Paine, Matt Sheppard, Billy Dunn, Gary Tomkins, Justin Haers, Peter Britten, Dave Rauscher, Chad Homan, Mike OBrien, Derrick Podsiadlo, Matt Billings, Gil Tegg Jr., Mike Bowman, Justin Wright, Brian Sage, Eldon Payne, Tom Keyes, Alan Johnson, Vinnie Vitale, Henry Maier, Pete Taylor, Dave Allen, Jimmy Maier, Dan Wiesner, and Jeff Brownell Jr.. Heat Winners – Gary Tomkins, Mike OBrien, and Erick Rudolph.

SAFETY AWARENESS SOLUTIONS SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – STEVE GRAY, James Henry, Tyler Meeks, Dave Marcuelli, Paul Guererri, Matt Guererri, Tim Baker, Eric Giguere, Nick Guererri, Kevin Ridley, Karl Comfort, Jeff Devolli, Kaitlyn Pashina, AJ Lloyd, Austin Fugle, Joe Cook, Ray Hendershot, Kane Bristol, Jeremy Groescup, Ricky Newton, Rob Bussey, Nick Krauss, Matt Smith, Dave Conant Jr., James Sweeting, and Frank Guererri Jr.  Heat Winners – Frank Guererri Jr., Matt Guererri, and Dave Marcucelli.  Consolation Winner – Dave Conant Jr.

SAFETY AWARENESS SOLUTIONS SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH 8-16-14 – KARL COMFORT, Steve Gray, Dave Marcucelli, Tim Baker, Frank Guererri, Matt Guererri, Jeff Devoli, Nick Guererri, Dave Conant Jr., Ricky Newton, AJ Lloyd, James Henry, Kevin Ridley, James Sweeting, Tyler Meeks, Kane Bristol, Kaitlyn Pashina, Eric Giguere, Joe Cook, Nick Kraus, Matt Smith, Paul Guererri, Andrew Jacobson, and Rob Bussey.

DIG SAFELY NY 305 RACE SAVER SPRINT FEATURE FINISH – DAVID FERGUSON, Alysha Ruggles, Dan Kuhn, Nick Cooper, Steve Doell, Darryl Ruggles, Lee Sanders, Lance Dusett, Will Glover, Todd Henderson, Kelly Hebing, Josh Azzi, Jason Whipple, Jonathon Preston, Tim Smith, Chris Preston, and Dan Bennett. Heat Winners – David Furgeson and Lee Sanders.

PARTS PLUS PRO STREET FEATURE FINISH – MIKE WELCH, Tommy Barron, Ron Greek, Pete Stefanski, Blane Smith, Pat Hobbs, Charles Harvey, Mark Effner, and Bill Weller. Heat Winner – Blane Smith.

PARTS PLUS PRO STREET FEATURE FINISH 8-9-14 – PETE STEFANSKI, Blane Smith, Steve Pesarek, Mike Welch, Bill Weller, Charles Harvey, Pat Hobbs, and Ron Greek.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH – MARC MINUTOLO, CJ Guererri, Scott Smith, Nick Dandino, Jared LaBarge, Tom Juhl, Ed Stratton, Jenny Nunez, Eric Chapman, Chris Gingerich, and Howard Washburn. Heat Winner – Nick Dandino and Marc Minutolo.

PURE STOCK FEATURE FINISH 8-9-14 – NICK DANDINO, Marc Minutolo, Tom Juhl, CJ Guererri, Vance Vanderwall, Scott Smith, Ed Stratton, and Howard Washburn.

NEW LEGENDS SPORTSMAN FEATURE FINISH – JASON SCALES, Gus Hurlbert, Joshua Szymarski, Doug Smith, Steve Faulkner, and Bryan Faulkner rounded out the field. Heat Winner – Jason Scales.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.