Billy Decker, Jordan Bennett, Jeff Isabell Jr. And Tim Dunn Grab Brewerton Gold

RaceChaser Staff Northeast 0 Comments

Brewerton, N.Y. – June 21, 2013 (By Dave Medler) – So far in the 2013 season at the Brewerton Speedway, Billy Decker was having less the a stellar start by his standards. Coming into Friday night, he was ninth in the point standings giving him a great starting spot in the 35 Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature.Decker took advantage of his starting spot grabbing lead on the second lap and never looking back, in a feature only slowed by only one caution. For Decker, it was his 52 win at the “D-Shaped Dirt Demon.”

Other winners Friday night were, Jordan Bennett, round one of the Industrial Tire Of CNY Sportsman Shootout Series, Jeff Isabell Jr., Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites and Tim Dunn, Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Chuck Bower Narrowly outran other front row starter Billy Decker to lead the opening lap of the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modified feature. Bower’s lead was short lived as Decker was able to drive by Bower to scored the new leader one-lap later.

With 5 laps complete, Decker was glued to the bottom as he opened a half a straightaway lead. Behind the leader, Dale Planck and Bower ran side by side for the second spot with Dan Vauter and Chad Phelps showing in the top-five.

On the 10th go-around, Decker still set the pace out front as Bower broke away from the battle with Planck as he tried to cut into Decker’s lead. Vauter, Phelps and Planck were locked into their own battle for top-five spots.

On lap 13 the only yellow flag of the race would wave when Willy Decker went off turns three and four. Decker went pit-side ending his night.

With 20 laps showing on the lap counter, Decker was still on cruise control out front as Planck moved back into second, followed by Phelps, Vauter and Matt Sheppard who moved into the top-five using the middle to the top of the speedway.

When starter Dave Farney gave the 10 laps to go sign, Decker was still comfortably out front. Planck, Phelps, Sheppard and Vauter were putting on a show battling for second through fifth.

With no cautions the rest of the way, Decker cruised under the checkers for the win. Sheppard, Planck, Chad Phelps and Vauter came across the line for top-five finishes.

Billy Decker talked about putting his Gypsum Wholesalers/Stadium International Trucks/NAPA Auto Parts/ Integra Racing Shocks/LJL Kevlar Racing Engines/ No.91/ Bicknell in victory lane.

“We’ve been struggling a little bit (At Brewerton) we were lucky to have that starting spot tonight. The Gypsum Wholesalers car was really good tonight, I don’t know how deep we could of came from, at this stage it doesn’t really matter. Just tickled to death to get a win.”

In the opening round of the Industrial Tire Of CNY Sportsman Shootout Series, Jordan Bennett fired the first shot as he led wire to wire in the 25 lap feature that went caution free with only one car going a lap down. With his win, Bennett not only gets a guaranteed spot for the Industrial Tire Of CNY Sportsman Shootout during the Outlaw 200 Weekend at the Fulton Speedway, October 4-5, he goes into the automatic redraw for the feature.

While Bennett was out front, there were tight battles all over the speedway that saw Dave Emmons and Beth Schneider come across the line bumper to bumper for second and third and Dave Marcuccilli and Tony Finch II finishing fourth and fifth. Matt Emmons, Chris Hulsizer, Eric Giguere, Jeremy Pitcher and Kevin Ridley came home sixth through tenth.

The next round of the Sportsman Shootout Series will be on Thursday night, July 4th when the Sportsman will join the Lucas Oil Empire Super Sprints on the opening night of the of the “Red White And Brew Weekend.”

In the Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites, Jeff Isabell Jr. took the 20 lap win in a car he said is 13 years old. The win wasn’t an easy one as he had to hold off his brother Joe Isabell over the first half of the race and then teammate Alan Fink over the last 10 laps. Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen and Jeremy Isabell finished third through fifth.

Chuck Powelczyk looked to be heading to his 61st Brewerton Speedway win when he fell off the pace on lap 10 handing the lead over to Tim Dunn. Once out front Dunn wasn’t challenged the rest of the way. Kyle Young, Jack Taskey, Brian Evenden and Jessica Herbert-Redhead chased Dunn across the line.

Next Friday night, June 28th, Syracuse Haulers presents one of the more popular nights of the race season, Family Autograph Night. Fans will have a chance to go trackside to get autographs and giveaways from their favorite drivers, plus get up close to all the racing equipment.

On the race card will be the Tracey Road Equipment Big Block Modifieds, Nationwide Insurance IMCA Modifieds, Anchor Bar & Grill Mod Lites and Four Cylinder Super Stocks.

Adult grandstand admission will be $12 with everyone 18 yrs old and younger FREE. Pit admission will be $25 Members/$30 Non-Members.

Tickets are on sale for Fulton Speedways, Kasey Kahne-Tony Stewart Night Wednesday, July 17th. Kahne and Stewart will be strapping in their 410 Sprint Cars to battle the UNOH All-Star Circuit Of Champions. Also on the race card will be the exciting Industrial Tire Of CNY Sportsman Shootout Series. All the info you need to purchase tickets can be found at the following link. .

Any questions you might have about the season please contact Cory Reed at (315) 668-6906 or . Keep up with track updates throughout the season at and, on each speedway’s Facebook accounts and on Twitter at and

(TRACEY ROAD EQUIPMENT BIG BLOCK MODIFIEDS 35 LAPS) – BILLY DECKER, Matt Sheppard, Dale Planck, Chad Phelps, Dan Vauter, Chuck Bower, Jimmy Phelps, Jim Witko, Ryan Bartlett, Larry Wight, Ryan Phelps, Chris Hile, Tim Sears Jr., Pat Ward, Matt Hulsizer, Robbie Bellinger, Willy Decker.

(INDUSTRIAL TIRE OF CNY SPORTSMAN SHOOTOUT 25 LAPS) – JORDAN BENNETT, Dave Emmons, Beth Schneider, Dave Marcuccilli, Tony Finch, Matt Emmons, Chris Hulsizer, Eric Giguere, Jeremy Pitcher, Kevin Ridley, Rocco Leone, Ron Davis III, Kyle Fink, Jim Spano, Alan Fink, Earl Rudy, Rick McCready, Jason Occhino, Justin Crisafulli, Corey Barker, Gregg Kimball, Frank Burnell Jr., Mike Prentice, Gordy Button.

(ANCHOR BAR & GRILL MOD LITES 20 LAPS) – JEFF ISABELL JR. Alan Fink, Joe Isabell, Mike Mullen, Jeff Isabell Sr., Jeremy Isabell, Rick Demo, Joe Garafolo, Jim Bogett, Doug Williams, Jeff Blackburn, Sam Usborne, Terry Lapham, Lowell Zehr, Justin Williams, Nick Graziano, Sterling Miller, Josh DeSantis, Zach Babcock, Cody Fleming, Dave Brown, Ryan Blackburn, Tim Devendorf, Lane Bush. DIG SAFELY NY $50 GIFT CERTIFACATE TO PRO RACE CARS HEAT WINNERS – Joe Isabell, Alan Fink, Jeff Isabell Jr..

(FOUR CYLINDER SUPER STOCKS 15 LAPS) – TIM DUNN, Kyle Young, Jack Taskey, Brian Evenden, Jessica Herbert-Redhead, Mark Warner, Sam Curcie, David DeNova, Dan Dupra, Bill Carista, Jacobe Palmiter, Chuck Powelczyk, Peter VanBuskirk, Paul Atkinson, Stephanie Seeley, Sam Carista, Kevin Dupra, William Root, Jeff Herbert, Lorraine Powelczyk.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.