AUDIO/RECAP: Pitkat Powers to Whelen Modified Tour All-Star Shootout Victory at Loudon

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Audio, Featured, New England, Northeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

LOUDON, N.H. – official series release by Jason Cunningham, NASCAR — Audio courtesy NASCAR Media — Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

Not even the late-race invert of the leaders could derail Woody Pitkat’s plans to return to Victory Lane at New Hampshire Motor Speedway.

Pitkat took the lead for the sixth and final time in the last circuit of the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour’s All-Star Shootout and held off Ryan Preece and Donny Lia in a dash to the finish in Friday’s 35-lap non-points event.

Leading at the Lap 20 break, an invert of the top six in the running order sent Pitkat from the first to the third rows to restart with 15 to go. He quickly moved his way back into contention and to the lead with three to go. As the three-way battle developed, Preece held the point position at the white flag, but Pitkat came out on top.

It marked the second victory in a row for Pitkat at the “Magic Mile.” He won the 100-lap points race there last September.

Preece crossed the finish line second and Lia held on for third. Justin Bonsignore followed in fourth with Bobby Santos fifth. Ted Christopher, Eric Goodale, Ron Silk, Ryan Newman and Andy Seuss brought home the top 10.

The All-Star Shootout consisted of a 20-car field that primarily featured champions and race winners from NASCAR’s Whelen Modified and Whelen Southern Modified Tours who were pre-qualified for the special event.

The dash format produced plenty of urgency from the competitors that resulted in 14 official lead changes in just 35 laps.

The All-Star Shootout will premiere on NBCSN on July 23 at 4:30 p.m.

The Whelen Modified Tour will return to action Saturday at New Hampshire for the Andy Blacksmith 100 presented by Donate Life New England at 2 p.m.


Audio with race winner Woody Pitkat:

Audio with podium finishers Ryan Preece and Donny Lia:


RESULTS: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour; Whelen All-Star Shootout; New Hampshire Motor Speedway; July 17, 2015

  1. Woody Pitkat
  2. Ryan Preece
  3. Donny Lia
  4. Justin Bonsignore
  5. Bobby Santos III
  6. Ted Christopher
  7. Eric Goodale
  8. Ron Silk
  9. Ryan Newman
  10. Andy Seuss
  11. Todd Szegedy
  12. Keith Rocco
  13. Gary Putnam
  14. Dave Salzarulo
  15. Patrick Emerling
  16. Rowan Pennink
  17. Timmy Solomito
  18. Ken Heagy
  19. Jamie Tomaino
  20. Doug Coby


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.