AUDIO/RECAP: Coby Conquers Monadnock; Defending Champion Scores First Win At New Hampshire Track

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Audio, New England, Northeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

MONADNOCK, N.H. —¬†official series release by Tim Southers, NASCAR — Audio courtesy NASCAR Media — Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

While the statistics sheet might make it look like it was an easy win, Saturday night’s go at the track called “Mad Dog” was anything but that for Doug Coby.

Although he led the final 166 laps of the O’Reilly Auto Parts 200, Coby had to hold off a hard-charging Woody Pitkat to score his third NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour win of the season at Monadnock Speedway.

Coby passed Ryan Preece on Lap 45 and was able to remain at the point in the caution filled race.

Pitkat followed closely in second with Justin Bonsignore coming up just a little short in his bid for a third straight win at the quarter-mile track finishing third. Todd Szegedy and Troy Talman completed the top five.

Eric Goodale rebounded from an early incident to finish sixth with Shawn Solomito, Andy Seuss, Chase Dowling, and Preece rounding out the top 10.

The race was slowed six times by caution with a pair of Red Flags thrown during the race for track cleanup caused by a pair of multicar accidents.

Pitkat was able to jump past Preece in the standings to now lead 329-326. Coby used his win to sit 15 points out of the lead at 314 while Szegedy is just two points out of third place thanks to his recent string of top-five finishes.

The race will be televised on NBC Sports Network on Thursday July 30 at 7 p.m.


Audio with race winner Doug Coby:

Audio with runner-up Woody Pitkat:

Audio with third-place Justin Bonsignore:


RESULTS: NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour; Monadnock Speedway; July 25, 2015

  1. Doug Coby
  2. Woody Pitkat
  3. Justin Bonsignore
  4. Todd Szegedy
  5. Troy Talman
  6. Eric Goodale
  7. Shawn Solomito
  8. Andy Seuss
  9. Chase Dowling
  10. Ryan Preece
  11. Jamie Tomaino
  12. Donny Lia
  13. Max Zachem
  14. Rowan Pennink
  15. Brendon Bock
  16. Patrick Emerling
  17. Joe Ryan Osborne
  18. Wade Cole
  19. Ken Heagy
  20. Dave Sapienza
  21. Timmy Solomito
  22. Bobby Santos III
  23. Jeff Goodale
  24. Gary McDonald
  25. Steve Masse
  26. Anthony Nocella
  27. Melissa Fifield
  28. Keith Rocco

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.