ACT: Eddie MacDonald Claims 52nd Annual Milk Bowl Triumph

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Northeast, Other Late Models 0 Comments

BARRE, Vt. – official release — Photo courtesy ACT Tour — Eddie MacDonald held off two-time and defending Thunder Road Int’l Speedbowl track champion Derrick O’Donnell to claim the victory in the 52nd running of the People’s United Bank Milk Bowl on Sunday.

MacDonald put together a combined overall score of 14 points in the three-segment event to become the first winner from outside of Vermont since 2010.

MacDonald qualified with the third fastest time in Saturday’s time trials. Outside polesitter and 2014 Series ACT champion Alex Labbe suffered mechanical issues at the start of the first segment and MacDonald then got around polesitter Joey Polewarczyk Jr. to take the first segment win, just ahead of O’Donnell in second and 2009 Milk Bowl champion John Donahue in third.

MacDonald then worked his way through heavy traffic coming from the 24th starting spot following the inversion for segment two. His day nearly came crashing to a halt as he survived a close encounter with the front stretch wall just after halfway. MacDonald managed a fifth place finish ahead of O’Donnell in seventh and Donahue in eighth.

It was a three-man dance heading into the third and final 50-lap segment. MacDonald held a slim three point lead over O’Donnell and five points over Donahue. The trio again marched their way through the field to reach the top 10. MacDonald got around O’Donnell late in the event and finished eighth to secure the overall win.

O’Donnell and Donahue battled to the finish and wrecked just after the start finish line. O’Donnell took second overall, one point ahead of Donahue in third. Scott Dragon had a solid day to claim fourth overall just ahead of a hometown favorite in Cody Blake rounding out the top five.

Jason Woodard wrapped up the 2014 Bond Auto Tiger Sportsmen championship with a fourth place overall effort in the Tiger Mini-Milk Bowl. Mike Martin used a win in the first segment and an 11th place finish in the second to claim the Mini-Milk Bowl win.

Veteran Allen Lumber Street Stock driver Tommy Smith held on to score the 2014 championship. His eighth place overall finish in the Street Stock Mini-Milk Bowl was enough to secure him the title. Jaden Perry claimed the Mini-Milk Bowl win with a win and fourth in the two segments. Alan Maynard and Kevin Dodge completed the podium.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.