NWAAS: Seekonk Drivers End Season Strong in State & Division Points

Kyle Souza New England, Racing Nation 0 Comments

Fred Astle is the 2016 Massachusetts NASCAR state champion. (Seekonk Speedway photo)

Fred Astle is the 2016 Massachusetts NASCAR state champion. (Seekonk Speedway photo)

SEEKONK, Mass. — The 2016 season at Seekonk Speedway will be one that is remembered for a ‘split championship’ in the Pro Stocks.

The track champion in the Division I NASCAR Whelen All American Series Pro Stock class was Tom Scully Jr. After trying for more than a decade and coming close so many times before, Scully finally was able to capture the big crown, holding off six-time champion Fred Astle by just 24 points at the conclusion of the season.

Behind the wheel of his Anytime Realty No. 2, Scully picked up two victories over the course of the season and was one of the fastest cars week in and week out. Scully also picked up a $10,000 non-points win during the first annual SLM Nationals in July.

Scully Jr. will be honored at the banquet on Nov. 12 at the Venus De Milo in Swansea, Massachusetts as the 2016 Pro Stock track champion.

But Astle is also a champion this year. Though he was able to capture five wins, he didn’t collect enough points over the course of the year to be the track champion — but he did collect enough to be the NASCAR Massachusetts state champion.

With Seekonk being the only track in Massachusetts under the NASCAR sanction, it was a battle of the track Pro Stocks for who would be the state champion.

The point system for the state title is a little bit different than the track points system, which allowed for Scully to win the track title but allowed Astle to win the state title. With his five wins, nine top-five and 15 top-10 finishes in 16 starts in 2016, Astle collected a total of 451 points.

Scully had two wins, 10 top-five runs and also had 15 top-10 finishes — but he only collected 450 points. A single point was the difference between the two drivers in the state championship when it came down to the end.

One of the goals for Scully Jr. after locking up the track title was to somehow beat out Astle in the final race of the season in order to become the state champion as well, but he came up just short.

“It just is awesome, it’s crazy,” Scully said following his sixth-place finish on Sept. 24. “I wanted to win the state championship tonight, but I think Fred got that. We’ll take the track championship though, it’s really awesome.”

In the state championship, Angelo Belsito finished third, with Radical Rick Martin coming home in fourth position when it was all set and done. David Darling rounded out the top-five.

But the Pro Stocks weren’t the only drivers that excelled in NASCAR points this season.

In the NASCAR Division II final standings for all the tracks across the country that are under the sanction, Dylan Estrella — who also won the track championship this season — finished 21st out of the top 100 drivers.

Seekonk’s Division II is the Late Model class.

Estrella visited victory lane four times and collected 14 top-five and 16 top-10 finishes in his 16 races. He was joined by Austin Blais (43rd), Charlie Rose (45th), Jeramme Lillle (50th), Nick Johnson (68th) and TJ Moreshead (82nd) among the top 100 in the final Division II standings.

In the NASCAR Division III final standings, 2016 Seekonk Street Stock champion Scott Bruneau was among those at the top of the pack.

With his five feature wins, 11 top-fives and 16 top-10 runs in 18 starts, Bruneau was able to collect 467 points, which slotted him in fifth among the top-100 in his State Line Tree Works No. 74.

He was joined by Paul Lallier (8th) and Scott Serydynski Jr. (16th) inside the top-20 in the Division III points.

And in the Division IV NASCAR standings, the top NASCAR points driver from Seekonk was 2016 Sports Truck champion Mike Cavallaro. He finished 16th in the top 100 drivers, collecting eight feature wins over the course of the season. He also notched 15 top-five and 17 top-10 runs behind the wheel of his No. 80 Sports Truck.

Cavallaro was joined by Chase Belcher (25th) and Mike “Showtime” Duarte (44th) inside the top 50.

Seekonk Speedway will conclude the 2016 racing season with the annual D.A.V. Fall Classic on Oct. 28-29, headlined by a $5,000 to win, 150 lap Pro Stock main event.

For more information, visit www.seekonkspeedway.com.

CREDIT: Seekonk Speedway

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.