NORTHEAST: Monteith Rolls to First Williams Grove Score of Season

RaceChaser Staff Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

MECHANICSBURG, Pa. — official release –– Chris Dolack photo — Brian Montieth finally broke through for this first 410 sprint car win of the season at Williams Grove Speedway on Friday night, taking the lead from Alan Krimes with 13 laps down in the 25-lap main event.

In the special 25-lap championship race for the 358 sprints, Adrian Shaffer drove to his second oval win of the season after an exciting four-car race for the lead was contested.

Montieth started fourth in the 410 sprint main and drove up to second on the first circuit as Krimes took control of the race.

Krimes entered traffic with eight away as Montieth kept drawing closer and closer and then when Krimes made a misstep while trying to negotiate traffic in the second corner, Montieth used the outside cushion to breeze by into the lead with 12 laps to go.

The races only caution flag then unfurled for a slowing Austin Hogue.

Montieth streaked away when action resumed and had a straightaway advantage over Krimes with seven laps to go. He took the win by 2.546 seconds after losing a win two weeks ago by .01 at the finish line.

““We was either gonna’ win or take it out of the place tonight,”” Montieth said in victory lane after claiming what was the 16th triumph of his Williams Grove career.

After starting eighth, Greg Hodnett took third before the halfway point but would fail to advance any further. Fifth starter Lance Dewease challenged Hodnett for third on the restart but ended up fourth with ninth starter Doug Esh racing home in fifth.

Sixth through 10th went to Gerard McIntyre Jr., Don Kreitz Jr., Ryan Smith, Cory Haas and Steve Buckwalter. Heats went to McIntyre, Hodnett and Mark Smith.

Jordan Givler tried to lead the first lap of the championshp for the 358 sprints but fell off the pace as the field completed lap one. That gave Chris Arnold the lead but he soon surrendered that on the third lap when on a restart he hit the outside backstretch wall, handing control over to Matt Campbell.

Campbell then led until the 14th circuit when Shaffer finally prevailed in what had developed as a four-car race for the win between Campbell, Jay Galloway, Brock Zearfoss and Shaffer.

After Shaffer got the lead he tried to pull away to the win but Zearfoss took second with four laps to go and threatened to make a race of it near the end. Time ran out for Zearfoss however as Shaffer took his ninth career oval victory and second of the season.

Kevin Nouse rode home third followed by Campbell and Phil Walter. Sixth through 10th went to Chandler Leiby, Kody Lehman, Rich Eichelberger, DJ Montgomery and Brie Hershey. Heats went to Tyler Esh and Shaffer.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.