MIDWEST: Hoffman, Westfall and Wallace Among Friday Winners at Eldora

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Modifieds, Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Dirt Late Models 0 Comments

ROSSBURG, Ohio — official release — Nick Hoffman and Matt Westfall duplicated their Thursday night victories Friday night to lock themselves into the front row of Saturday’s 32-car, 25-lap modified wrap-up of the DIRTcar UMP Fall Nationals presented by Allstar Performance at Eldora Speedway.

Joining them in the starting line-up will be Kenny Wallace and Evan Taylor, who captured Friday’s other two $1,000-to-win featured events that were completed minutes before Mother Nature invaded the one-half mile clay oval.

While the modified ‘alphabet’ Feature portion – (A, B, C, D, E & F) of Friday’s (Saturday) doubleheader has been set based upon earned finishing positions over the past two nights, the Late Models will join the crowd in a full racing program to set the field for their 40-lap, $5,000-to-win chase.

Heavy overnight rains and quickly dropping temperatures had cast a doubt on the completion of Friday’s chase; however, dedicated efforts by the Eldora staff and extreme cooperation from the 110 teams on hand allowed the ‘show to go on’ .

Always excitable in victory lane, Wallace was no different Friday. The veteran of many NASCAR wars bolted to any early lead in the first of four 20-lap, $1,000-to-win, chases and just when he appeared to have a runaway victory, young upstart driver Taylor Cook came upon the scene and chased him down.   In the final race for the checkered flag, it was Wallace holding off Cook, as Tyler Nicely, fellow NASCAR driver David Stremme and Jonathan Sluka completed the top five.

Hoffman’s run duplicated his strong performance of the night before as he was able to beat Mike Harrison, Mark Anderson, Jerry Bowersock and Travis Stemler in the evening’s second A-Feature, as the winds intensified and the approaching storm became more imminent.

Opting to move away from the traditional victory lane ceremony to save time in the race against the weather, the 24-car field for A-Feature number three rolled immediately on to the high banks.

In another spirited chase for the win, it was Evan Taylor prevailing over Jamie Lomax, Jeff Leka, David Smith and Brandon Green.

The night’s final run for the money found Westfall holding off Thursday night winner Brian Ruhlman and the newly crowned UMP Modified champion Devin Gilpin, while fellow Illinois drivers Dean Hoffman and Matt Mevert completed the top five.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.