KNOXVILLE: Ian Madsen Survives Wild Feature to Win Second of Season at Knoxville

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – official release — Petersen Media photo — Ian Madsen was victorious for the second time this season and the fourth time in his career at the Knoxville Raceway on Saturday night in the 410 feature.

A roller coaster A main saw just 15 competitors cross the checkers at the finish. In the 360 class, Justin Henderson won for the second time this season, padding the BDS Motorsports No. 1 owner’s point lead in that class.

Before a lap could be completed in the 410 A main, Austen Wheatley flipped after contact from another car. Danny Lasoski spun to avoid the incident. Wheatley was o.k., and Lasoski restarted at the tail.

On the complete restart of the 20-lapper, Dusty Zomer took command from the pole, with Madsen and Mark Dobmeier in tow. With just a lap in the books, Cole Wood flipped hard in turn one. He was also uninjured. After the race went green again, Madsen found his way by Zomer on lap three to take the point.

Brian Brown was on the move as well, going from eighth to fifth on lap one, and taking fourth from Dobmeier on lap five. Madsen and Zomer traded the lead briefly at the halfway point, with Madsen pulling away. On lap fourteen, Brown passed Dobmeier for third and set his sights on the leaders.

Point leader, Terry McCarl, who had to work his way through the B, stalled with motor problems with 15 laps in the books. Clint Garner, who was running seventh, spun to avoid him and had to restart at the tail. Madsen led Zomer, Brown, Dobmeier and Bronson Maeschen back to green flag racing. Brown made quick work of Zomer to move into second.

Two laps later, a vicious three-car crash ensued involving Lynton Jeffrey, Jon Agan and Dakota Hendrickson. All three climbed from their machines. Brown slid in front of Madsen when the green replaced the red, but surrendered the lead down the backstretch. When he tried to enter under Madsen in turn three, he caught the berm, made contact with the leader and launched straight into the fence. He too, walked away.

That would prove to be the final stoppage of the event. Zomer shot in front of Madsen in turns one and two when the green flew, but Madsen ducked back under to pull away for a win worth $3,000 to the Nehring #18 team. Zomer followed in second, ahead of Craig Dollansky, Dobmeier and Lasoski, from the tail. Maeschen, Davey Heskin, Justin Henderson, Don Droud Jr. and Sam Hafertepe Jr. rounded out the top 10.

Brown posted quick time on the night as well as winning his heat from the sixth starting spot. Other heat winners included Garner, Hafertepe and Heskin. Lasoski won the B. Bryan Clauson lost a left rear wheel in qualifying and flipped in turn one. He was also uninjured, but done for the night.

With two point shows remaining, there are just 137 points separating first from fifth in the standings.

“I gave everything I had,” said Madsen in victory kane. “I didn’t want to give another one up. When I get around Brian, we start racing pretty hard. I hope he’s not too angry at him. I did chop him. I can’t thank my team enough. It’s definitely, I think, the best team in the Midwest and one of the best in the country. I’m just lucky to drive it.”

The 360 feature went almost without a hitch. Young Josh Baughman shot from the pole to lead Matt Covington and Henderson early on in the 18-lapper. The only caution came on lap five when Alan Ambers slowed to a stop in turn one.

Baughman led Covington, Henderson, Calvin Landis and Nate Van Haaften back to green flag racing. Henderson made quick work of Covington for second at that point, while Landis followed him into third on lap eight.

Baughman continued to lead until lap twelve, when Henderson found his way by for 360 career win number three here. Baughman ran a strong second, ahead of Landis, Van Haaften and Jamie Ball. Joe Beaver, Sheldon Haudenschild, Covington, Jon Agan and Dusty Zomer rounded out the top ten.

Joe Beaver registered quick time on the night over the 40-car field, while Sawyer Phillips, Henderson, Jarrod Schneiderman and Brooke Tatnell won heat races. Tony Bruce Jr. won the B.

“This was a great win,” said Henderson in Victory Lane. “I’m super-happy for this team. I’m just happy to be a part of it. Baughman was running a great race. He was doing a great job. I just enjoy the heck out of running with these guys.”

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.