USCS: Hagar claims Frostbuster 250 season-opener at Magnolia

Jacob Seelman MidSouth, Other Sprint Cars 0 Comments

March 2, 2014 — race report by Managing Editor Jacob Seelman — photo courtesy USCS — COLUMBUS, MS — You just can’t stop championship momentum.

2013 USCS Sprint Car Series National Champion Derek Hagar drove that point home to the rest of the competition Saturday night during the Outlaw Thunder tour portion of the Frostbuster 250 at Magnolia Motor Speedway.

Hagar bested his top competition from 2013 for the victory, outrunning ten-time USCS Sprint Car Series champion Terry Gray to the checkered flag for his first victory of 2014 and 21st career USCS triumph.

Mid-South Thunder Tour regulars Eddie Gallagher, Brandon Hanks and Henry Gustavus rounded out the top five. Female phenom Morgan Turpen came home sixth and Greg Merrit finished in seventh, earning the Wilwood Disc Brakes Hard Charger Award for advancing the furthest in the feature event.

On the opening start, Hagar flashed by polesitter Todd Fayard from Saucier, Mississippi to grab the lead on lap one, driving away to an early advantage. The gap would not last however, as 2012 USCS Champion Tim Crawley caught Hagar’s rear bumper and hounded the 9JR for the next thirteen laps of the 25 lap A-main.

The duel appeared to be evenly-matched until Crawley hooked a rut midway through turns three and four and bicycled into the fence, losing precious ground on Hagar. Able to continue with no major damage, Crawley took up the chase for the lead again only to have engine problems ultimately end his night. The Benton, Arkansas native was scored eighth at the checkered flag.

Hagar kicked off the night’s action by taking the win in the first Hoosier Speed Dash of the 2014 season. Terry Gray won the Engler Machine and Tool First Heat and Tim Crawley collected the win in the Butlerbuilt Second Heat. Todd Fayard garnered the K&N Filters Pole Award for the main event.

The next event for the USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour winged sprint cars will be on Saturday, March 15th at Tennessee National Raceway (formerly Hohenwald Motorsports Park) in Hohenwald, Tennessee. For information on Tennessee National Raceway, visit or call 931-796-1890.

For rules and info on the USCS Sprint Car Series Outlaw Thunder Tour, visit or call 770-865-6097.


RESULTS: USCS Frostbuster 250; USCS Sprint Car Series; 25 laps

USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour main event – 25 laps:

  1. 9jr Derek Hagar, Marion, AR
  2. 10 Terry Gray, Bartlett, TN
  3. 1x Eddie Gallagher, Collierville, TN
  4. 3h Brandon Hanks, Burleson, TN
  5. 42 Henry Gustavus, Marion, AR
  6. 10m Morgan Turpen, Cordova, TN
  7. 12m Greg Merritt, Nesbit, MS
  8. 88 Tim Crawley, Benton, AR
  9. 16f Lance Hester, Gulfport, MS
  10. 28 Jeff Willingham, Ripley, MS
  11. 1a Lee Moore, Tuscaloosa, AL
  12. 13 Todd Fayard, Saucier, MS
  13. 13t Taylor Tidmore, Hernando, MS


USCS Outlaw Thunder Tour Race Awards:

USCS Hoosier Speed Dash: #9JR – Derek Hagar
Engler Machine and Tool First Heat: #10 – Terry Gray
Butlerbuilt Second Heat Award: #88 – Tim Crawley
K&N Filters Pole Award: #13 – Todd Fayard
JE Pistons Top Guns Award: #9JR – Derek Hagar (1st place)
K&N Filters Podium (3rd place) Award: #1X – Eddie Gallagher
Wilwood Disc Brakes Hardcharger Award: #12M – Greg Merritt
Keizer Aluminum Wheels Top Five Award: #42 – Henry Gustavus
Saldana Racing Products Super Sixth Award: #10M – Morgan Turpen
DMI/Bulldog rear Ends top Ten Award: #28 – Jeff Willingham

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.