Preece Returns As JGR Sets All-Star Lineup

RaceChaser Staff Featured, XFINITY 0 Comments

Ryan Preece, who won in the XFINITY Series this season for Joe Gibbs Racing, will return to the team’s All-Star car in 2018. (NASCAR photo)

HUNTERSVILLE, N.C. – Joe Gibbs Racing has solidified the driver lineup for its ‘All-Star Car’ in the NASCAR XFINITY Series next season, featuring former NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Ryan Preece and an assorted roster of current Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers.

After scoring his first-career XFINITY Series win at Iowa Speedway this summer, Preece will return to drive a partial schedule behind the wheel of the No. 18 Toyota Camry, with Eric Phillips serving as crew chief.

Preece competed in three races for JGR this season and earned a top-five finish in each, including his breakthrough win at Iowa. He will also pilot the No. 18 this weekend in the season finale at Homestead-Miami Speedway, as he looks to secure JGR’s second-consecutive owner’s championship.

A 26-year-old native of Berlin, Conn., Preece is a very accomplished short-track racer. He boasts 20 career NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victories, as well as 70 top-five and 96 top-10 finishes and the 2013 championship.

“Obviously I couldn’t be more excited about the opportunities that I have already had with JGR this season and now to be able to increase the number of races I’m running next season is a great step in my career,” said Preece. “I’m looking forward to going out there and making the most out of the opportunity.”

Preece will share JGR’s third XFINITY Series entry with the organization’s Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series drivers.

Kyle Busch, the all-time leader in XFINITY Series wins with 91, is expected to run seven races in the No. 18 Toyota next season.

Denny Hamlin, Erik Jones, Daniel Suárez and others will fill out the remaining races on the calendar.

In addition, JGR confirmed Wednesday that Brandon Jones will join the team to drive full-time in the No. 19 Toyota, while Jason Ratcliff will move down from the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series to serve as crew chief for Christopher Bell and the No. 20 Toyota team in the XFINITY Series next year.

CREDIT: Joe Gibbs Racing

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *