Preece Keeps Rolling With Thompson Victory

Kyle Souza Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, New England, Touring Series 0 Comments

Ryan Preece celebrates in victory lane after winning Wednesday night at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. (Michael Ivins/NASCAR photo)

THOMPSON, Conn. – The wave of momentum for Ryan Preece continued on Wednesday night at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park.

Preece charged to the front of the 28th Annual Bud “King of Beers” 150 and hung on to score his second straight NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour victory and fourth of the season.

The Berlin, Connecticut driver passed defending champion Doug Coby with just 16 laps remaining en route to the win. In his last six Whelen Modified Tour starts, he has four wins, a second and a fourth, and he also won the NASCAR XFINITY Series race at Iowa Speedway last month.

Wednesday marked Preece’s 19th career tour victory.

“Doug put a lot more pressure on me at the end then I thought he was going too,” Preece said following his win. “I have to keep winning races. My career depends on that. We had a really good car tonight.”

Wednesday’s drive was filled with plenty of drama. While some of the top challengers pitted before the haflway point, Preece decided to wait things out and make a late pit stop for fresh rubber. However, on Lap 114, his No. 6 TS Haulers/Hoosier Tire of Calverton Chevrolet went spinning in Turn 2.

Preece fired the car before going a lap down and pitted for tires two laps later. From there, it was a hard charge to the front.

He worked his way into the top five and then passed leader Coby with just 16 laps remaining. While Preece showed the way for the final laps, Coby was not about to let him get away.

But on the final lap, Coby made contact with the Turn 1 wall. Luckily, he was able to continue on and was scored as the runner-up, as the race ended under caution. The yellow flag froze the field on the final lap, and NASCAR officials ruled Coby maintained a reasonable speed under caution given the track conditions.

Ted Christopher finished third, followed by Timmy Solomito and Bobby Santos.

Andrew Krause, Rowan Pennink, Eric Goodale, Jon McKennedy and Woody Pitkat completed the top 10.

Solomito increased his championship points lead to 10 over Pennink, while Preece moved up to third, just 19 back of the top spot despite missing a race earlier in the season to get married.

Full race results can be viewed on the next page…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.