KNPSW: Eggleston Dominates Orange Show For Second Straight Year

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Touring Series, West 0 Comments

Chris Eggleston (99) leads Sheldon Creed Saturday at Orange Show Speedway. (Jonathan Moore/Getty Images for NASCAR photo)

SAN BERNARDINO, Calif. — Orange Show Speedway has been a perfect fit for Chris Eggleston in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series West.

For the second consecutive season, Eggleston was victorious in the Sunrise Ford 150 presented by Pinnacle Peak Steakhouse. On Saturday night, the 28-year-old from Erie, Colorado won the Coors Light Pole and led 71 of 150 laps around the quarter-mile en route to the win.

Saturday’s race marked his second win of the season and seventh of his career.

“I felt like tires played more of a factor than last year,” Eggleston said. “Todd was really good on the short runs. Our car was really good on the long runs.”

While points leader and teammate Todd Gilliland got by him for the lead on lap 21, Eggleston never lost focus on the end goal. 

“I didn’t know if we were going to catch him there for a minute,” he admitted. “I caught him, rolled up to him, and got by him in lapped traffic.”

From there, Eggleston commanded most of the remaining distance after re-passing Gilliland on lap 64, only briefly losing the top spot after slowing to avoid an incident in the second half of the event.

Sheldon Creed and Todd Souza came home second and third, respectively.

Kody Vanderwal and Takuma Koga rounded out the top five. Both earned the free pass midway through the race and rebounded for career-best finishes.

Gilliland, who entered the night on a four-race win streak, was involved in a multi-car incident on Lap 121. He rallied to finish sixth and was the last car to finish on the lead lap.

12 lead changes among five drivers highlighted the night, as Eggleston trimmed Gilliland’s championship lead down to 11 points.

Bill Kahn and Michael Self finished in seventh and eighth, respectively, both one lap down. Matt Levin and John Wood completed the top 10.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series West will return to action on June 10 at Colorado National Speedway, with the running of the Toyota 150. Eggleston is the defending event winner.


RESULTS: NASCAR K&N Pro Series West; Orange Show Speedway; May 20, 2017

  1. Chris Eggleston
  2. Sheldon Creed
  3. Todd Souza
  4. Kody Vanderwal
  5. Takuma Koga
  6. Todd Gilliland
  7. Bill Kann
  8. Michael Self
  9. Matt Levin
  10. John Wood
  11. Blaine Perkins
  12. Rich DeLong III
  13. Ron Norman
  14. Jesse Iwuji
  15. Andrew Engberson
  16. Derek Kraus
  17. Nicole Behar
  18. Stafford Smith
  19. Julia Landauer
  20. Will Rodgers
  21. Andrew Tuttle

NASCAR Integrated Marketing Communications and Bill McAnally Racing contributed to this report.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.