Kyle Busch Motorsports Sets Crew Chief Lineup

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Trucks 0 Comments

Rudy Fugle will be paired with sophomore driver Noah Gragson at Kyle Busch Motorsports this season. (NASCAR photo)

MOORESVILLE, N.C. – Kyle Busch Motorsports has announced the crew chief lineup for its three full-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series teams this season.

Ryan “Rudy” Fugle will call the shots for Noah Gragson and the No. 18 team, looking to secure his second-straight drivers title after guiding Christopher Bell to the championship last season in the Truck Series.

Meanwhile, Mike Hillman Jr. will work with Harrison Burton, Kyle Busch and others in the No. 51 Tundra and Marcus Richmond will have Todd Gilliland as the primary driver of the No. 4 Tundra, alongside Kyle Busch and Todd’s father David until the younger Gilliland becomes old enough to run at every track on the schedule in May.

Fugle has guided his team to an owner’s championship in all four of his seasons (2013, 2015, 2016 & 2017) as a crew chief at KBM, including combined owner’s and driver’s championships with Erik Jones in 2015 and Bell last season. The New York native’s drivers have combined for 21 wins, 14 poles, 48 top-five and 53 top-10 finishes across his 91 races calling the shots for the organization.

Under Fugle’s tutelage last season, Bell collected a series-leading five wins, five poles, 15 top-five and 21 top-10 finishes en route to the championship.

Hillman Jr. is a two-time NASCAR Camping World Truck Series champion crew chief. He helped Toyota capture its first-ever NASCAR national series championship when he guided Todd Bodine to the Truck Series title in 2006. The duo won 14 races as a pairing from 2006 to 2011 and topped the driver’s standings in NASCAR’s third division again in 2010.

Overall in his 10-plus seasons atop the pit box, the New York native’s Truck Series drivers have collected 20 wins and 18 poles. He joined KBM for the last four races of the 2017 season and recorded one top-five and two top-10 finishes, highlighted by Burton’s career-best third-place finish at Martinsville (Va.) Speedway in October.

Richmond has collected 10 wins, 14 poles, 56 top-five and 120 top-10 finishes across 245 races in his 12 seasons as a crew chief in the Truck Series. The North Carolina native has been to victory lane with six different drivers (Ty Dillon, Gragson, Kevin Harvick, Timothy Peters, Johnny Sauter and Dennis Setzer) and has recorded at least one win every year since 2012.

In his first season at KBM, Richmond was paired with Noah Gragson and produced one win, three poles, four top-five and 13 top-10 finishes with the rookie.

CREDIT: Kyle Busch Motorsports

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.