NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series Finalizes 2014 Schedule

RaceChaser Staff International, NASCAR 0 Comments

March 5, 2014 — OCESA release — Getty Images for NASCAR photo — MEXICO CITY, Mexico – After opening the season with a scorcher in the Arizona desert, the NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series returns south of the border to continue the rest of its 2014 campaign.

The series opened its 11th season, eighth under the NASCAR banner, under the lights at Phoenix International Raceway on Friday, March 28, with Daniel Suárez and the No. 3 TELCEL Toyota Camry winning the Toyota 120 checkered-flag after a last-lap pass of then race-leader Antonio Pérez.

The remainder of the 2014 season will take the series to nine cities across Mexico: Mexico City, Tuxtla Gutierrez, Monterrey, San Luis Potosí, Queretaro, Aguascalientes, Puebla, Chihuahua and Guadalajara, with the final two on the list still awaiting confirmation.

The 2014 NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series rundown:

Phoenix International Raceway – For the second consecutive year, the series opened its season north of the border. Fans were treated to 120 laps of fast-paced action as Suárez took the lead in the closing moments, en route to his fourth consecutive NASCAR win. The 22-year-old Monterrey, Mexico, native, who also runs full-time in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East as a member of the Drive for Diversity program and Rev Racing became the first driver since Kyle Busch in 2009 to concurrently lead two NASCAR series.

Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez – Just over a month after visiting the U.S., the NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series will race on Mexican soil on April 5th for the first of two scheduled visits to Mexico City. The series returns to Mexico City on June 8.

Super Ovalo Chiapas – The three-quarter mile banked oval will play host to two events during the 2014 campaign. Rafael Martínez and José Luis Ramírez each won a race at the track in last season. The 14th race on the calendar will also take place in Tuxtla Gutierrez, a race that will no doubt have serious implications on the championship.

Autódromo Monterrey – The northern Mexican territory will hold the fourth event of the season. Once again, the 1.988-mile paved track will be the venue for the only road course race of 2014.

Autódromo Potosino – Homero Richards and the new AXTEL M Racing team, along with the rest of the series, will visit the fastest half-mile in Mexico on May 11. Richards earned his only victory of 2013 on the San Luis Potosí banked oval. The track will also feature the NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series’ second race of the Desafio, the five race playoff to determine the championship, on September 21.

Ecocentro – The .75-mile banked oval will host the NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series on May 25.

Autódromo Internacional de Aguascalientes – Aguascalientes will be the fifth city on the 2014 calendar to host two series events. On July 20, rising star Rubén Garcia Jr. will return to the site of his first career NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series victory. The series will return to the .875-mile banked concrete oval on October 5.

Autódromo Miguel E. Abed – Arguably two of the most important races on the 2014 calendar will take place at Puebla. The 10th and final race before the Desafio field is set will take place on August 17. The NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series will crown a champion at the season finale on November 9.

In addition to the confirmed dates, the series is also awaiting final confirmation for an August 3 date at Chihuahua and a September 7 visit to Guadalajara.

The NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series continues to be the most exciting form of auto-racing in Mexico and throughout Latin America. In 2014, fans from across Mexico will be able to experience a mix of rising stars and seasoned veterans all battling for the right to hoist the championship trophy in Puebla.

The season resumes in Mexico City on April 5, as Suárez will look to make it two in a row at Autódromo Hermanos Rodríguez and three series wins overall dating back to the Mexico City Finale last year.

NASCAR Mexico Toyota Series 2014 Calendar

Race Date City Racetrack
1 February 28th Phoenix Phoenix International Raceway
2 April 5th Mexico City Hermanos Rodríguez
3 April 13th Tuxtla Gutiérrez Súper Óvalo Chiapas
4 April 27th Monterrey Monterrey
5 May 11th San Luis Potosí Óvalo Potosino
6 May 25th Querétaro Ecocentro
7 June 8th Mexico City Hermanos Rodríguez
8 July 20th Aguascalientes Óvalo Aguascalientes
9 August 3th Chihuahua* El Dorado Speedway
10 August 17th Puebla Miguel E. Abed
11 September 7th Guadalajara* Awaiting Confirmation
12 September 21st San Luis Potosí Óvalo Potosino
13 October 5th Aguascalientes Óvalo Aguascalientes
14 October 19th Tuxtla Gutiérrez Súper Óvalo Chiapas
15 November 9th Puebla Miguel E. Abed

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.