CUP: Kyle Larson Overcomes Early Spin To Lead All-Star Practice

Jacob Seelman Cup, Featured 0 Comments

Kyle Larson at speed during Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race practice on Friday. (Ryan Willard photo)

CONCORD, N.C. — Looking to avenge his near-miss from last year’s Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race, Kyle Larson set the pace during Friday’s practice session for ‘locked-in’ drivers at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Despite a spin in the first 10 minutes of the 85-minute block, Larson rallied to post the fastest time of the session on the green-sidewall ‘option’ tires, touring the 1.5-mile quad-oval in 28.530 seconds (189.274 mph).

Larson’s fast lap in his No. 42 Target Chevrolet came on the 25th of his 33 laps in the session.

The current Cup points leader was at the front of the field inside of five laps to go in last year’s All-Star Race after having transferred in through the Open, but was passed by eventual winner Joey Logano for the million-dollar prize.

2007 All-Star Race winner Kevin Harvick landed second-fastest on the speed charts, posting a lap of 28.557 seconds (189.095 mph) in his specially-painted No. 4 Busch Bucks Ford.

Brad Keselowski was third for Team Penske (28.575/188.976), followed by three-time All-Star Race pole winner Kyle Busch and Kansas winner Martin Truex Jr.

Kurt Busch, four-time All-Star winner Jimmie Johnson, Ryan Newman, Denny Hamlin and Matt Kenseth completed the top 10 on speed in the lone practice round.

Hamlin ran into issues towards the end of practice, hitting the outside wall and sustaining considerable damage to his No. 11 FedEx Toyota. The team has unloaded a backup car for the remainder of the weekend.

Kyle Busch had the fastest 10-lap average, posting a speed of 185.985 mph from laps 27 to 36 of his time on-track.

Talladega winner Ricky Stenhouse Jr., who ended the session 11th-quick, ran the most laps (52) of the 16 locked-in drivers in practice.

Coors Light Pole Qualifying for the Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race rolls off at 6 p.m. ET, live on FOX Sports 1.


RESULTS: Monster Energy NASCAR All-Star Race; Final Practice; Charlotte Motor Speedway; May 19, 2017

  1. Kyle Larson
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Brad Keselowski
  4. Kyle Busch
  5. Martin Truex Jr.
  6. Kurt Busch
  7. Jimmie Johnson
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Denny Hamlin
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  12. Kasey Kahne
  13. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  14. Chris Buescher
  15. Jamie McMurray
  16. Joey Logano


About the Writer

Jacob Seelman is the Managing Editor of Race Chaser Online and creator of the Motorsports Madness radio show, airing at 7 p.m. Eastern every Monday on the Performance Motorsports Network.

Seelman grew up in the sport, watching his grandparents co-own the RaDiUs Motorsports NASCAR Cup Series team in the 1990s.

The 23-year-old is currently studying Broadcast Journalism at Winthrop University in Rock Hill, S.C., and is also serving as the full-time tour announcer for the Must See Racing Sprint Car Series.

Email Jacob at: [email protected]

Follow on Twitter: @Speed77Radio or @JacobSeelman77

Email Race Chaser Online: [email protected]

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *