Busch Wins Pole & Six-Pack Challenge At The Glen

Steven Ovens Cup 0 Comments

Kyle Busch won both his sixth Coors Light Pole of the season and the Six-Pack Award Sunday at Watkins Glen International. (Brad Ovens photo)

WATKINS GLEN, N.Y. — Just when you think Kyle Busch can’t continue his recent success in the Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series this season, he digs a little deeper and proves that there’s still more left in the tank to draw from.

Busch set a blistering pace around Watkins Glen International on Sunday morning, topping Coors Light Pole Qualifying and posting a final round time of 1:09.490 (126.925 mph) in the No. 18 M&Ms Caramel Toyota.

The pole was Busch’s third-straight in Cup competition, the 25th of his career and his second at Watkins Glen.

In addition, for being the first driver to score six Monster Energy NASCAR Cup Series poles this season, Busch earned a $25,000 bonus for the Kyle Busch Foundation.

After qualifying, Busch relayed that he left it all out on the track.

“I don’t think there’s anything else I could have done (to improve the lap),” Busch said after climbing from his M&M’s Caramel No. 18 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota.

“That was pretty good. Yesterday, there was a few times in practice too where I just hit it and felt really good about it. I knew where those marks were and just tried to match them. Obviously it was a really good lap.”

Busch was quick to thank his team for a well-handling car and a car that had great pace in navigating the highest-speed road course the series will see all season long.

“These guys just continue to do a really great job. This M&Ms Caramel Camry has really good speed today and has had all weekend. I feel like we’re one of the cars to beat. There’s a couple cars right with us, but we’ll see how it goes today and if we can keep out of trouble in the race.”

Kyle Larson qualified second and will start on the outside pole for Sunday’s I Love New York 355 at the Glen, after a final round time of 1:09:862 (126.249 mph) in the No. 42 Credit One Bank Chevrolet.

Martin Truex Jr. will start on the inside of the second row after posting a time of 1:10:132 (125.763 mph) in his No. 78 Furniture Row Toyota, flanked by Chase Elliott.

Daniel Suarez completed the top five, ahead of Erik Jones, A.J. Allmendinger, Brad Keselowski, Jamie McMurray and Jimmie Johnson.

Denny Hamlin and Clint Bowyer both had brake issues before completing a lap in the final round, and neither posted an official time. They were credited with 11th and 12th, respectively, but will drop to the rear of the field for the start.

Continued on the next page…

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.