X-1R Pro Cup Series Heading to Myrtle Beach This Weekend

RaceChaser Staff Carolinas Racing, Featured, Southeast 0 Comments

Mooresville, NC 06/18/13: On June 22ndthe X-1R Pro Cup Series, formerly known as the Hooters Pro Cup Series, will head to Myrtle Beach Speedway for the fifth race of the season.

The .538 mile track, located just minutes from the Grand Strand of Myrtle Beach, will host the 23rd Pro Cup race in the track’s history. Pro Cup veterans Clay Rogers (twice in 2006 & 2009), Mark McFarland (2008), and JP Morgan (2012) have all won at this track and will attempt to visit victory lane once again this weekend.

In addition to the veterans an incredible battle for Air Flow Research Rookie of the Year honors is taking shape with Eric Gerchak (34 years old), Reid Wilson (17 years old), and Brady Boswell (16 years old). Gerchak, leading the rookie standings by just 24 points, will have to work hard at Myrtle Beach to finish ahead of the young guns and hold onto his lead.

Driver Gus Dean will be racing in his home state of South Carolina, a current resident of Bluffton, this weekend and hopes to take his No. 56 Chevrolet to victory lane. At the young age of 18 years old, Dean has impressed many this season with his stellar finishes. He is currently 6th position in points standings and has finished in the top-five twice this season in four races.

Dean will have a lot of extra eyes in the stands this week as his sponsors Dean Custom Air along with Carrier are sponsoring the event at Myrtle Beach.

“I’m really excited to have my sponsors, Dean Custom Air and Carrier, sponsoring the Pro Cup race at Myrtle Beach Speedway this weekend,” Gus said. “Its companies like these that support short track racing that mean the world to us and allow us to do what we do. Hopefully we can give them a good run and have a shot at the win. It would be pretty awesome to make that happen with everyone in attendance.”

Pre Entered Drivers: #02 Tyler Young, #1 Dalton Hopkins, #2 Brady Boswell, #8 Mark McFarland, #15 Bill Plemmons Jr., #16 Clay Rogers, #17 Stacy Puryear, #21 Eric Gerchak, #23 JP Morgan, #33 Ryan Heavner, #41 Rusty Skewes, #56 Gus Dean, #66 Reid Wilson.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.