WORLD SERIES: Nasse Rolls On At New Smyrna

RaceChaser Staff Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, Other Late Models, Southeast, Stock Cars 0 Comments

February 20, 2014 — By Jason Christley, NASCAR — Bruce Nuttleman/ photo — NEW SMYRNA, Fla. — Stephen Nasse continues to run away from the field.

The 18-year-old from Pinellas Park, Fla., coasted Wednesday to his third Super Late Model win in four starts during New Smyrna Speedway’s 48th Annual World Series of Asphalt Racing. In the process, he extended his points lead to six over Steve Wallace and 12 over Kyle Benjamin with three races remaining.

The World Series runs through Saturday night, culminating with the Bruce Gowland Memorial 100.

Nasse took the lead on Lap 6 and led the remainder of the 35-lap race, which went caution-free. Spencer Davis finished second, followed by Wallace, Benjamin and defending World Series champion Ryan Moore.

Davis, 15, is running three divisions at New Smyrna. The Dawsonville, Ga., driver picked up his second Pro Late Model win later Wednesday night, and is also racing the Modified division.

Ross Kenseth finished sixth to drop to 16 behind Nasse.

Matt Tifft, Brandon Watson, David Rogers and Cameron Hayley rounded out the top 10.

Super Late Models are the track’s Division I in the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series.

The tour-type Modified division, always a highlight of its World Series program, headlined the night with the 5th Annual John Blewett III Memorial 76. Ron Silk dominated the event, which went green the entire distance. Silk took the lead on Lap 3 and led runner-up Ryan Preece and third-place Tommy Barrett across the line. Eric Goodale and Matt Hirschman rounded out the top five.

Preece pushed his Modified points lead to five over Hirschman and eight over Goodale with two races remaining. The Modifieds run 35 laps Thursday and the 100-lap Richie Evans Memorial on Friday night.

Todd Stone was given the win in the IMCA Modified race after first-place Doug Moff was disqualified in post-race technical inspection. Stone, the NASCAR Whelen All-American Series Vermont champion from Devil’s Bowl Speedway, clinched New Smyrna’s World Series title.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.