WOO: Pittman Wins Third Career SPEED SPORT World Challenge Title; Kaeding Advances to A-Main

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars 0 Comments

KNOXVILLE, Iowa — official release — Daryn Pittman battled Tim Kaeding and changing track conditions to win the SPEED SPORT Knoxville World Challenge and $10,000 on Saturday afternoon.

Pittman, the reigning World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series champion, has two previous wins in the Challenge in 2004 and 2005.

“The track was tricky – I think the sun came out and with that long break the track was cleaned off and laid rubber,” Pittman said. “Hats off to the track crew. They’ve had their work cut out for them all week with the weather. To have a day show and not lay rubber until the last race – it was a great race.”

Pittman said a team meeting last night helped his crew refocus and explore ways to improve and make sure they are able to contend for the Nationals tonight.

“Good team win. It gives us a little momentum going into tonight.”

Tim Kaeding, who finished second after leading much of the Challenge, battled with Pittman off and on for through the middle portion, until Pittman finally got around him with nine to go.

“We just missed the bottom there one time and Daryn got underneath us,” Kaeding said. “It is what it is. We’ve got probably an 1/8 or 1/16 of the budget these guys have so I’m happy. I’ve got to thank all you fans for sticking around and sticking it out today. Hopefully tonight we can make this 59 car go forward in the main event.”

Kaeding received the 25th starting position in tonight’s Knoxville Nationals final as the top finisher who was not already qualified for the A main.

“We just snuck into the Nationals,” Kaeding said.

Brad Sweet finished third. He will start tonight’s B main in 11th.


World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series Statistical Report; Knoxville Raceway; Knoxville, Iowa; Aug. 9, 2014

Speed Sport World Challenge (25 laps): 1. 9, Daryn Pittman, Owasso, OK (6) ($10,000); 2. 59, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA (4); 3. 49, Brad Sweet, Grass Valley, CA (3); 4. 55J, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. (2); 5. 15, Donny Schatz, Fargo, ND (12); 6. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA (10); 7. 55, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. (5); 8. 83, David Gravel, Watertown, CT (8); 9. 51, Paul McMahan, Nashville, TN (9); 10. 14K, Dale Blaney, Hartford, OH (11); 11. 3G, Ormeau, QLD, Aust. (16); 12. 11N, Randy Hannagan, Pittsboro, IN (1); 13. 55x, Trey Starks, Puyallup, WA (13); 14. 0, Bud Kaeding, Campbell, CA (14); 15. 83x, Jason Meyers, Clovis, CA (18); 16. 75, Glen Saville, Razorback, NSW, Aust. (22); 17. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Sydney, NSW, Aust. (20); 18. 4s, Danny Smith, Chillicothe, OH (17); 19. 4c, Tyler Courtney, Indianapolis, IN (21); 20. 7s, Jason Sides, Bartlett, TN (15); 21. 1, Sammy Swindell, Germantown, TN (7); 22. 4K, Kody Kinser, Bloomington, IN (19); DNS – 1D, Justin Henderson, Tea, SD, 29, Kerry Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust., 2, Shane Stewart, Bixby, OK, 71, Kevin Swindell, Germantown, TN.

Lap Leaders: I. Madsen 1-2, T. Kaeding 3-16, Pittman 17-25.

Hard-charger: Donny Schatz (+7).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.