WOO LMS: Lanigan Keeps Rolling; Scores Fourth Season Win at Duck River in Caution-Free Dogfight

RaceChaser Staff Featured, MidSouth, Other Late Models, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars 0 Comments

WHEEL, Tenn. — official release by Chris Tilley — Darrell Lanigan grabbed his fourth World of Outlaws Late Model Series win of the season, and his 57th all-time, on Sunday night in front of a standing-room-only crowd at Duck River Raceway Park.

Polesitter Tim McCreadie and Rick Eckert brought the field of 24 to the green flag. McCreadie quickly charged to the high-side and the lead with Eckert in tow.

With McCreadie taking the early lead, third-starting Lanigan challenged Eckert for second by the fifth lap, grabbing the spot on lap 10 and setting his sights on McCreadie.

By the 14th lap, Eckert was on Lanigan’s back bumper working through lapped traffic, but he could not get around him.

Midway through the 50-lapper, Lanigan challenged McCreadie for the lead as the two duked it out for a next few circuits and closed again on more lapped cars.

After 10 laps of battling for the top spot, Lanigan finally made his move for the lead coming off of turn two and held onto the spot for the remaining laps.

Lanigan crossed the line ahead of McCreadie, Mike Marlar, Eckert and Ray Cook. Completing the top-10 included Chub Frank, Morgan Bagley, Eric Wells, Bub McCool and Tanner English.

“We got an awesome race car right now,” said Lanigan, of Union, Ky. “I can’t thank my crew enough. Tonight we had a good race track and we could race all the way round it.”

Lanigan’s car has been really good lately, picking up his fourth Outlaw win of the year, sixth overall.

“This car has been awesome since we unloaded in Florida and it’s just gonna get better,” Lanigan told the huge crowd.

McCreadie captured his second-straight podium finish at Duck River.

“I said last Friday, he (Lanigan) was tough,” said McCreadie, of Watertown, N.Y. “He got me in traffic, and I thought when he got hung behind Shane (Clanton) there was my chance. I tried. I just couldn’t stick enough on entry to get off the corner.”

Shane Clanton turned the fastest overall lap of Ohlins Shocks Time Trials, circling the blistering-fast oval in 12.668 seconds during Group ‘A’ of the split qualifying session.

Heat winners were Mike Marlar, Darrell Lanigan, Clint Smith and Tim McCreadie. Riley Hickman and Steve Casebolt captured the B-Mains.

The WoO LMS will be back in action on Saturday/Sunday May 24 & 25 at Tyler County Speedway in Middlebourne, W.Va., for the annual Jackpot 100 paying $20,000-to-win.

For more information on the WoO LMS, visit www.worldofoutlaws.com .

Fans can also follow the WoO LMS on Twitter at Twitter.com/WoOLateModels and Facebook atFacebook.com/WorldofOutlaws .

RESULTS: World of Outlaws Late Model Series at Duck River Raceway Park (Finishing Position/Start/Driver/Laps Completed/Money Won):

  1. (3) Darrell Lanigan/50 $10,650
  2. (1) Tim McCreadie/50 $5,700
  3. (8) Mike Marlar/50 $3,000
  4. (2) Rick Eckert/50 $3,150
  5. (6) Ray Cook/50 $2,500
  6. (7) Chub Frank/50 $2,300
  7. (4) Morgan Bagley/50 $1,950
  8. (10) Eric Wells/50 $1,850
  9. (16) Bub McCool/50 $1,450
  10. (5) Tanner English/49 $1,150
  11. (9) Shane Clanton/49 $1,600
  12. (20) Chase Junghans/49 $1,800
  13. (18) Steve Casebolt/49 $950
  14. (7) Clint Smith/49 $1,450
  15. (14) Frank Heckenast Jr./49 $1,400
  16. (22) Rick “Boom” Briggs/49 $1,350
  17. (24) Brad Skinner/48 $820
  18. (13) Cody King/48$750
  19. (15) Dylan Ames/38 $730
  20. (17) Riley Hickman/22 $700
  21. (19) Mark Fields/22 $700
  22. (21) Caleb Ashby/8 $700
  23. (12) Skylar Marlar/7 $700
  24. (23) Josh Putnam/5 $725

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.