V8SC: Skaife Inducted Into V8 Supercars Hall Of Fame

RaceChaser Staff Featured, International, Supercars 0 Comments

SYDNEY, New South Wales, Australia — official series release — V8 Supercars photo —

Five-time V8 Supercars/Australian Touring Cars Championship title-winner and TV broadcast personality Mark Skaife was added to the Hall of Fame at the V8 Supercars Gala Awards Dinner in Sydney on Monday.

Forty-seven year old Skaife joins the greats of the sport – including last year’s inductee, the late Jason Richards, and former champions Glenn Seton, John Bowe and Jim Richards – with the honor.

With 220 event starts to his name, 90 race wins (second only to Craig Lowndes), 178 total podium finishes and six Bathurst 1000 wins – the most recent in 2010 – Skaife started with Gibson Motorsport in 1987 and went on to win his first Bathurst crown in 1991.

Now retired from racing, Skaife has continued to remain entrenched in the sport, having been the founding V8 Supercars Commission Chairman, creating the new generation “Car of the Future” model, and assisting with track design at street circuits such as Sydney Olympic Park and Townsville.

Most recently Skaife is known for his role as a TV commentator for Channel Seven, providing expert analysis for viewers – however his most illustrious period was racing for the Holden Racing Team in the early 2000s where he earned 15 race wins in one season (tied for second-most in a year along with Whincup and Garth Tander), three consecutive Championship titles and three Bathurst 1000 victories.

Surpassed only by Whincup, Skaife sits equal with Dick Johnson and Ian Geoghegan on the championship tally and is one of the most recognizable personalities associated with V8 Supercars.

CREDIT: V8 Supercars

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.