V8SC: Mostert Makes Triumphant Return; Scores Pole for Second Race of Clipsal 500 Adelaide

Jack Cobourn Featured, International, Supercars 0 Comments

ADELAIDE, Australia — Report by Race Chaser Online International Motorsport Correspondent Jack Cobourn — V8SC photo —

Welcome back to V8 Supercars, Chaz Mostert.

The 23-year-old Melbourne native made a triumphant return in his first race weekend outing since a horrifying crash at Bathurst’s Mount Panorama Circuit cut his season short last fall, using his final flying lap to nip all-time qualifying leader Jamie Whincup for his 11th career ARMOR ALL Pole Award.

Shane Van Gisbergen began the qualifying session for race two struggling for grip, while Whincup went to the top of the board on his first lap. However, the order would quickly shuffle and by the halfway point of the session, cars were jumping into the pits for new tires and then going out for their second laps.

As the session came to an end, Whincup looked to have beaten Courtney by a tenth, but Mostert’s last gasp effort in the No. 55 Supercheap Auto Ford Falcon FG X was enough to edge Whincup by 0.0820 seconds.

“I didn’t really see that (result) coming this weekend — honestly, I just wanted to ease back into it,” said Mostert, who won 10 poles during his breakout season in 2015. “I’ll still be up (on) the pointy end (of the grid), which is great. I’m a bit lost for words, though. I can’t really describe it. It’s kind of like (winning) my first pole all over again.”

Whincup’s No. 88 Red Bull Racing Australia Holden Commodore put down a best time of 1:20.4552, and he will start second for both Saturday sprint races as a result. Scott McLaughlin, in his Volvo S60, nipped Courtney for third (1:20.4834) in the end, while the two-time reigning event winner will roll off fourth (1:20.5612).

New Red Bull Racing Australia / Triple Eight Race Engineering hire Shane van Gisbergen (1:20.6082) rounded out the ‘Fast Five’.

Michael Caruso, Scott Pye, Jason Bright, Craig Lowndes and reigning champion Mark Winterbottom were the remainder of the top 10 starters.

Garth Tander was the biggest name outside of the top 10, timing in only 18th-quick in the No. 2 Commodore for the legendary Holden Racing Team.

The first 125 km sprint race of the Clipsal 500 Adelaide takes place at 1:50 p.m. local time on Saturday.

Race Chaser Online Managing Editor Jacob Seelman contributed to this report.


RESULTS: V8 Supercars Championship; ARMOR ALL Pole Qualifying: Race 2; Clipsal 500 Adelaide; Adelaide Street Circuit; March 4, 2016

  1. Chaz Mostert
  2. Jamie Whincup
  3. Scott McLaughlin
  4. James Courtney
  5. Shane van Gisbergen
  6. Michael Caruso
  7. Scott Pye
  8. Jason Bright
  9. Craig Lowndes
  10. Mark Winterbottom
  11. Will Davison
  12. Cameron Waters
  13. Tim Slade
  14. Rick Kelly
  15. Lee Holdsworth
  16. Tim Blanchard
  17. Fabian Coulthard
  18. Garth Tander
  19. Nick Percat
  20. Todd Kelly
  21. James Moffat
  22. David Reynolds
  23. Chris Pither
  24. Andre Heimgartner
  25. Dale Wood
  26. Aaren Russell


About the Writer

Jack Cobourn is the international motorsports correspondent at Race Chaser Online, and covers the V8 Supercars Championship, Rally Cars and the FIA World Rally Championship. Cobourn has been an avid follower of motorsports for years, having not missed a Formula One race in 16 seasons. He is a graduate of the University of Delaware, with a degree in history and a minor in journalism.

Email Jack at: Jack.Cobourn@yahoo.com

Follow Jack on Twitter: @JackCWriter92

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.