USAC Silver Crown: Hall of Fame Classic Next on May 17th in Indianapolis

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, USAC 0 Comments

May 1, 2014 — official release — photo courtesy Lucas Oil Raceway — INDIANAPOLIS, IN — The May 17 USAC “Hall of Fame Classic” at Lucas Oil Raceway in Indianapolis, Ind. is round two of the 2014 USAC Silver Crown Series and will feature the 12 new inductions into USAC’s Hall of Fame.

Kody Swanson of Kingsburg, Calif. will take a three-point lead over Tracy Hines into the May 17 race as a result of his victory in Sunday’s “Sumar Classic” 100-lap race at the Terre Haute (Ind.) Action Track.

Swanson started second in the race next to pole-starter Hines and proceeded to lead the first 35 laps in his Radio Hospital Maxim/Hampshire. He relinquished the lead to Chris Windom on a restart for lap 36 and Hines led lap 37 before Swanson returned to the front to lead the final 63 laps for the victory.

Hines took second at the checkered flag ahead of Jerry Coons Jr., Bobby East and Zach Daum.

Rounding out the “top-10” were Shane Cockrum, Dave Darland, A.J. Fike, John Hunt and Joe Liguori.

The victory was Swanson’s fourth in Silver Crown competition, meaning that the search for the series’ 100th different race winner will continue on May 17 at Indianapolis.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.