USAC: Darland Looking to Extend Consecutive Winning Seasons to 23 in 2015

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, USAC 0 Comments

INDIANAPOLIS – official release — Photo courtesy DDR —

Dave Darland, whose USAC resume sets him apart from nearly every driver who ever sat in a race car, continues his quest to extend a remarkable USAC record when the 2015 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series season opens Feb. 19-21 at Bubba Raceway Park in Ocala, Fla.

Winter Games VI begins in Ocala and concludes Feb. 26-28 at East Bay Raceway Park in Gibsonton, Fla., and the AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car Series events offer Darland the opportunity to extend record that belongs to him.

Darland earned his initial USAC National feature victory in 1993 at the Tony Hulman Classic in Terre Haute, Ind., and he’s added at least one feature victory in each of the subsequent 21 seasons to bring his record number to a total of 22 consecutive years with a USAC National triumph. That surpassed the record of 21 consecutive years established by A.J. Foyt (1959-1979) and Mel Kenyon (1962-1982).

Darland also is eying a significant 100th USAC National victory in 2015. He has 97 victories entering the season opener (30 midgets, 53 sprints and 14 Silver Crown). His 53rd sprint car victory surpassed Tom Bigelow’s all-time mark of 52 last year.

Darland’s 2015 season began with a trio of USAC Southwest/West Coast special events in Arizona which produced a pair of seconds and a third. He will again pilot the Phillips Motorsports entry during the 2015 AMSOIL USAC National Sprint Car SEries campaign, but this time with additional support from long-time USAC car owner Mike Curb.

“There are lots of reasons why I’ve been able to put this streak together,” said Darland. “I had no intentions in 1993 of ever being able to achieve this, but I’ve been fortunate to have quality cars and teams and I continue to have that. Having the additional support of Mike Curb and Cary Agajanian in 2015 will be important to the team and we hope we can continue to make USAC history together. It’ll be great to join the likes of Rich Vogler, A.J. Foyt and Mel Kenyon in the 100-win club and I’d like to get there as soon as possible. I not only feel good about my past, but certainly look forward to the future as we continue to seek success.”

Darland is not the only driver on a consecutive victory streak. Tracy Hines has scored USAC National victories in 19 consecutive seasons and would like to increase that streak to 20 during the 2015 openers. Hines’ all-time National total stands at 91 (35 midgets, 47 sprints and nine Silver Crown). The 47 sprint car wins rank third behind Darland and Bigelow.

A total of 40 tracks in 14 different states are included on Darland’s USAC victory list, which also includes eight regional race wins in addition to his 97 National triumphs.

CREDIT: United States Auto Club

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.