ARCA: Superman Returns in Big Fashion; Mitchell Wins Kansas Finale

RaceChaser Staff ARCA, Featured, Midwest 0 Comments

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — official series release — ARCA photo —

Mason Mitchell wasn’t going to let a teammate or a little thing like an empty fuel tank stand in the way of his third ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards victory Friday at Kansas Speedway.

Mitchell, in the No. 78 Karl Chevrolet, took the lead from teammate John Wes Townley with seven laps remaining in the Full Throttle S’loonshine 98.9 and went on to win the race. It was his second win of the season and third win of his ARCA Racing Series career.

“It felt great to battle my teammate,” Mitchell said. “It felt great to have two of your race cars battling for the win and racing hard.”

Mitchell finished in front of Kyle Weatherman in the No. 22 Crosley Brands Dodge, 2015 champion Grant Enfinger in the No. 23 Champion Power Equipment Chevrolet, Ryan Reed in the No. 38 Lilly Diabetes-MOMO-TraqGear Ford and Townley in the Zaxby’s Chevrolet.

Mitchell pitted on lap 28. There was some question whether or not he could make it until lap 99. He said he had no doubts.

“We didn’t have too many intentions of coming back down pit road after that point,” Mitchell said. “We felt like we were good on fuel mileage. I wasn’t too worried about it. It was just managing tires at that point. We were good on fuel and had a fast race car.”

The rest of the top 10 included Travis Braden, Tom Hessert, David Levine, Matt Kurzejewski and Jairo Avila.

Kurzejewski, in the No. 54 Costy’s Energy Services Chevrolet, wrapped up the Hoosier Tire Superspeedway Challenge by five points over the No. 23 GMS Racing Chevrolet team. Weatherman picked up his eighth SCOTT Rookie of the Race award of the season and cemented his lead in the SCOTT Rookie of the Year point standings.

“I knew I was in a fast car,” Weatherman said. “It is really cool about the Rookie of the Year. It gave our team a lot of motivation.”

The race took one hour and 25 minutes to complete. There were five cautions for 38 laps. Seven different drivers led laps, with Mitchell leading the most at 29. He led from laps 44 to 75 and again from laps 93 to 99. Menards Pole Award winner Daniel Suarez led the first 15 laps while Reed – coming off two straight ARCA wins – led the next 12. Weatherman (1), Will Kimmel (14), Kurzejewski (1) and Townley (17) also took turns at the front of the 33-car field.

Suarez finished 20th and Kimmel 21st.

Fourteen cars finished on the lead lap, including Austin Wayne Self, who finished 12th in the No. 98 AM Technical Solutions-Pirate Energy Chevrolet. The finish was enough for Self to pass Josh Williams for second place on the season-long standings. In two full-time seasons in ARCA, Self has won the Rookie of the Year award and finished second in the driver point standings.

Williams finished third in the standings in the No. 6 Musselman’s Apple Sauce-SW Florida Cable Chevrolet.

Next up on the ARCA Racing Series schedule is the post-season banquet on December 12 in Indianapolis. The series has set its test for mid-January at Daytona International Speedway.


RESULTS: ARCA Racing Series presented by Menards; Full Throttle S’loonshine; Kansas Speedway; October 16, 2015

  1. Mason Mitchell
  2. Kyle Weatherman
  3. Grant Enfinger
  4. Ryan Reed
  5. John Wes Townley
  6. Travis Braden
  7. Tom Hessert
  8. David Levine
  9. Matt Kurzejewski
  10. Jairo Avila
  11. Russ Dugger
  12. Austin Wayne Self
  13. Sarah-Cornett Ching
  14. Thomas Praytor
  15. Matt Tifft
  16. James Swanson
  17. Brandon Lynn
  18. Bo LeMastus
  19. Ed Pompa
  20. Daniel Suarez
  21. Will Kimmel
  22. Brandon Jones
  23. Dale Shearer
  24. Con Nicolopoulos
  25. Mike Basham
  26. Josh Williams
  27. Wayne Peterson
  28. Richard Hauck
  29. Dick Doheny
  30. Tom Berte
  31. Nick Higdon
  32. Josh White
  33. Mike Abram


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *