STARS: Four New Champions Crowned at Season-Ending Awards Banquet

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, Other Midgets, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

MORRIS, Ill. – official release — George Ballantine photo —

On Nov. 22, it was time for the racers to put away their firesuits and for the mechanics to exchange work clothes for their best business casual attire as they attended the 2014 STARS Banquet at Chapin’s North in Morris, Ill.

In the D’Arcy GMC STARS National Midgets, 19-year-old Austin Prock collected the trophy as the season champion. Prock led the point standings from start to finish and, along with his four feature victories in the 12-race 2014 season, he led all STARS drivers in a myriad of statistical categories including feature laps led (130); most races led (five); top-five finishes (10); top-10 finishes (12); heat race wins (four); and feature starts (12).

Though Prock finished the season as the driver with the most points, it was the Guess Racing team that wound up as the car owner champion for the fourth consecutive year. With Kyle O’Gara, Mario Clouser, and three-time STARS champion Jim Anderson sharing driving duties in the Guess No. 99, the team never finished outside of the top five until the final race of the season.

Rookie of the Year honors went to Nick Hamilton.

In just six feature starts, Hamilton collected three top-fives, five top-10, and led the first five laps of the season (the first of his STARS career) in the season opening race on May 31. Most Improved Driver went to Tyler Baran, who earned his first career STARS National Midget victory on Sept. 20.

The Sportsman of the Year award went to Kevin Probstt. The dreaded Hard Luck Award went to Al Greenup. The No. 41 Prock team was honored with having the best appearing car and team throughout the season. The prestigious Bob Tattersall Hard Charger Award went to Hamilton.

In the STARS Classic Modifieds, two-time series feature winner Greg Wills finished with the same amount of points as Darren Ihrke at the end of the season. However, it was a tiebreaker in laps led that put Wills in the number one spot and with the championship trophy in his hands. The Sportsman of The Year went to Logan Weigle.

Cullen Camasta picked up one feature victory in 2014 and his consistent finishes this season were enough to earn the INEX Legends championship.

Austin Kunert’s feature win and an average feature finish of 3.2 during the season earned him the honor of being named 2014 Most Improved Driver.

Young Dallas Frueh was able to parlay his hot start to the season into his first career CSR Super Cup title and the Hard Charger Award.

The Most Improved Driver honor went to Sydney Wonderling, who showed steady improvement from week-to-week and finished a season best sixth on Aug. 30.

The Shining STAR Award went to Justin Tea, a member of the STARS family who went above and beyond the call of duty by shooting all the action with his video camera each and every Saturday night at Grundy County Speedway.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.