SPRINT CARS: West Coast To Be Well-Represented at Cocopah Winter Heat

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Other Sprint Cars, Sprints & Midgets, West 0 Comments

SOMERTON, Ariz. – official series release — KWS photo —

In just one week’s time the inaugural Winter Heat Sprint Car Showdown at the Cocopah Speedway will begin.

The much anticipated winged 410 sprint car event takes place on Jan. 2-3, Jan. 6 and Jan. 9-10, with the four weekend shows paying $12,000-to-win & $1,000-to-start, while the Tuesday event is $5,000-to-win & $400-to-start.

Various drivers from across the West Coast, including several current or former King of the West Sprint Car Series drivers, are expected — with Willie Croft, D.J. Netto, Craig Stidham, Mason Moore and Kyle Larson among the notables.

Croft is coming off one of the best seasons of his career, which saw him put together an impressive string of consistency throughout the campaign. Highlights included a King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series victory in May at the Petaluma Speedway and his biggest ever triumph in October when he claimed the $20,000 Trophy Cup at Thunderbowl Raceway. At the Winter Heat Showdown he will be at the helm of the Tri-C Motorsports machine while normal driver Jonathan Allard is in New Zealand. In November at Cocopah Croft scored finishes of fourth and seventh with the ASCS National Tour in the No. 3C mount.

Netto was last year’s King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series Rookie of the Year and earned a career best series finish of second at the Pombo/Sargent Classic in June at Kings Speedway. Stidham is a past winner of the Trophy Cup and finished fourth in points with KWS in 2013. Moore found success at Cocopah Speedway this past November with the Lucas Oil ASCS National Tour and looks to do the same in the 410 at the Winter Heat Showdown. California based Roth Motorsports and Silva Motorsports will also field cars for David Gravel and Dale Blaney respectively.

Former King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series champion and this year’s NASCAR Sprint Cup Rookie of the Year, Kyle Larson, will also compete aboard the Larson Marks Racing No. 2 sprinter. It will be his first winged sprint car start since winning the 2013 Trophy Cup at Thunderbowl Raceway. The 22-year-old ranks 16th on the all-time King of the West 410 Sprint Car Series win list, sitting in a tie with Jimmy Sills, Greg Decaires and Randy Hannagan with seven wins to his credit. Larson drove the Chip Ganassi Racing with Felix Sabates No. 42 Target Chevy to eight top-five finishes and 17 top 10’s this past season in NASCAR Sprint Cup competition.

Approximately 50 competitors are expected to tackle the Winter Heat Sprint Car Showdown including 20-time World of Outlaws STP Sprint Car Series champion Steve Kinser, NASCAR Sprint Cup Series driver Kasey Kahne, Paul McMahan, Joey Saldana, Brian Brown, Danny Lasoski, Christopher Bell, Craig Dollanksy, Jason Johnson, Stevie Smith and many more.

CREDIT: King of the West Sprints

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.