SOUTHEAST: Better to Be Good; Bobby Sneaks Through to Win Final Pete Orr Memorial Race

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Other Late Models, Southeast 0 Comments

NEW SMYRNA, Fla. – By Jason Christley, NASCAR – NASCAR Home Tracks photo –

Bobby Good was disappointed he came up short Saturday night.

After post-race technical inspection at New Smyrna Speedway, however, he walked away with the big Super Late Model trophy.

Good was declared the winner of the prestigious Pete Orr Memorial 100 after Dalton Sargeant, who crossed the line .118 seconds ahead of Good, was disqualified for left-side weight infraction.

It was an anticlimactic end to a race that saw a furious duel over the final five laps between Sargeant and Good. Sargeant was nearly sideways in Turn 4 coming to the checkered but Good just couldn’t get a run underneath him.

“I was just trying to do anything I could with what I had,” said Good. “At the end, he was overdriving the corner and pushing up. And I got a couple good runs. I think I screwed myself up when I came up on him with two to go and tried to hug the apron down there in (Turns 3 and 4). He just got too big a lead on me.”

Good had dominated the first 77 laps of the Red Eye 100 at New Smyrna on Jan. 4 before settling for second behind Bubba Pollard. He thought he came up just short again, but his frustration was erased shortly after the finish. Both Sargeant and third-place William Byron were disqualified for the same infraction.

Good added his name to the list of Pete Orr 100 race winners that includes Kyle Larson (2012), Kyle Benjamin (2013) and Travis Cope (2014).

Perkins was third, followed by JJ Haley and Stephen Nasse.

Open-wheel dirt standout Rico Abreu, making his first NASCAR start, finished 13th after retiring on Lap 87 with mechanical issues. Abreu was making just his second start on asphalt and first in a stock car.

Sargeant, Byron, Haley, Abreu and Scott Heckert (11th) will all race for HScott Motorsports with Justin Marks in the NASCAR K&N Pro Series East this season, while David Garbo (20th) will race for Ted Marsh Racing. Garbo started eighth but was caught up in a mid-race, multi-car incident.

The NASCAR K&N Pro Series East will open Feb. 15 at New Smyrna as part of the track’s 49th World Series of Asphalt Stock Car Racing.

RESULTS: Pete Orr Memorial 100; New Smyrna Speedway; January 24, 2015

1.) Bobby Good

2.) Jake Perkins

3.) J.J. Haley

4.) Stephen Nasse

5.) Tyler Dippel

6.) Chad Pierce

7.) Tyler Scofield

8.) Anthony Sergi

9.) Michael Atwell

10.) Ashley Rogero

11.) Scott Heckert

12.) Daniel Keene, Jr.

13.) Rico Abreu

14.) Will Gallaher

15.) David Green

16.) Spencer Davis

17.) Matt Craig

18.) Joe Boyd

19.) Brad May

20.) Dave Garbo, Jr.

21.) David Rogers

22.) Jason Boyd

23.) Anthony Campi

24.) Dalton Sargeant

25.) William Byron


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.