PASS PLM: Back-to-Back; Kodie Conner Wires PASS Pro Late Model Field for Weekend Sweep at Hickory

Jacob Seelman Carolinas Racing, Featured, Other Late Models, Southeast, Stock Cars 0 Comments

NEWTON, N.C. — Recap and photo by Race Chaser Online Managing Editor Jacob Seelman —

Kodie Conner has not only figured out how to start (or restart) at Hickory Motor Speedway, he’s gotten the art down to a science.

Conner, who set quick time and started on the outside of the front row (after the redraw) for Saturday night’s 50-lap PASS Pro Late Model finale feature, outgunned polesitter and PASS Pro Late Model points leader Chandler Smith to turn one and never looked back, leading all 50 circuits and pulling away to a half-straightaway margin at the checkered flag.

The win was Conner’s eighth career PASS PLM victory and second of the weekend, after also winning Friday night’s PLM event at the famed 0.363-mile oval.

“What a night,” Conner said after the race. “That start was big — I didn’t expect to get him right there at the green but we timed it perfectly and once I was out front, I was just able to keep everyone behind me from there.”

“It’s really cool to win both races at Hickory. It’s such a historic track and it’s a really special weekend. We had a good car both days and this is just a great weekend.”

With the win, Conner takes a six-point advantage over Smith in the PASS PLM title race. Smith hung on to a sliding race car to come home second.

Matt Murphy rebounded from a crash on the final lap of Friday night’s main event to round out the podium in third. Jake Spillers finished fourth in just his second career PASS PLM start, and Friday’s runner-up Ryan Krachun capped off the top five.

The PASS Pro Late Models will be back in action on April 25 for the Bash at the Beach from Myrtle Beach Speedway in South Carolina.

For more information, visit


RESULTS: PASS Pro Late Model Series; Hickory Motor Speedway; April 4, 2015

  1. #45 – Kodie Conner
  2. #26 – Chandler Smith
  3. #7 – Matt Murphy
  4. #55 – Jake Spillers
  5. #29 – Ryan Krachun
  6. #23 – Zachary Dabbs
  7. #82 – Cameron Burke
  8. #24J – JP Joiasse
  9. #3 – Jordan McCallum
  10. #12 – Rikk McMehan


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.