NXS: He’s Back; Kyle Busch Tops Opening XFINITY Series Practice of 2015

Marshall Gabell Featured, NASCAR, Southeast 0 Comments

DAYTONA BEACH Fla. and CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Report by Race Chaser Online Mid-Atlantic Correspondent Marshall Gabell – Jared Tilton/Getty Images North America photo –

After just a single practice session in NASCAR’s second-tier series, Kyle Busch has reestablished himself as the man to beat in the NASCAR XFINITY Series.

Busch led the practice with a top speed of 191.681 mph prior to climbing behind the wheel of his full-time ride in the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series for practice.

The seven-time winner in the XFINITY Series last season was atop the leaderboard after getting a push from RAB Racing driver Justin Marks, who was unable to qualify for the Daytona 500 in the Sprint Cup Series following last night’s duel races.

Marks ended the practice in second (190.496) with veteran Mike Wallace, who is piloting JGL Racing’s No. 26 Toyota this weekend, slotting in third (190.018).

The top three were the only drivers in the session to top the 190 mile per hour barrier.

Roush Fenway Racing’s newest addition and former Kyle Busch Motorsports driver Darrell Wallace Jr. took to the track in his new Ford Mustang and practiced fourth fastest (189.661), with 2011 ARCA Racing Series champion Ty Dillon rounding out the top five (189.550) after qualifying for The Great American Race last night.

JR Motorsports’ Regan Smith, J.J. Yeley, Ryan Sieg, Ryan Reed and 2015 Rolex 24 co-champion Kyle Larson rounded out the top 10 positions.

Defending XFINITY Series champion Chase Elliott was 24th during the session, with his team owner Dale Earnhardt Jr. behind him in 25th overall.

XFINITY Series drivers will have one more chance to work on setups at 3:30 p.m. local time before tomorrow’s qualifying session and the season-opening Alert Today Florida 300 at Daytona International Speedway.


RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series Practice; Daytona International Speedway; February 20, 2015

  1. Kyle Busch
  2. Justin Marks
  3. Mike Wallace
  4. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  5. Ty Dillon
  6. Regan Smith
  7. J.J. Yeley
  8. Ryan Sieg
  9. Ryan Reed
  10. Kyle Larson
  11. Brendan Gaughan
  12. Aric Almirola
  13. Austin Dillon
  14. Mario Gosselin
  15. Landon Cassill
  16. Daniel Suarez
  17. Brian Scott
  18. Joe Nemechek
  19. Dakoda Armstrong
  20. Chris Buescher
  21. Erik Jones
  22. Elliott Sadler
  23. Brad Keselowski
  24. Chase Elliott
  25. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  26. John Wes Townley
  27. Ross Chastain
  28. Jeremy Clements
  29. Carlos Contreras
  30. Chad Boat
  31. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  32. Bobby Gerhart
  33. Chris Cockrum
  34. Joey Gase
  35. Eric McClure
  36. Dexter Beam
  37. Mike Harmon
  38. Derek White
  39. Cale Conley
  40. David Starr
  41. Scott Lagasse Jr.
  42. Blake Koch
  43. Harrison Rhodes
  44. Jeff Green

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.