NXS: Top of the Heap; Points Leader Buescher Paces First Kansas Practice

RaceChaser Staff Featured, Midwest, NASCAR 0 Comments

KANSAS CITY, Kan. — official series release — Todd Warshaw/Getty Images North America photo —

NASCAR XFINITY Series points leader Chris Buescher topped the leaderboard at Kansas Speedway early in Friday’s opening practice and remained there for the remainder of the 50-minute session.

Buescher propelled his No. 60 Roush=Fenway Racing Ford to a fast lap of 181.251 mph around the 1.5-mile tri-oval to secure the top position.

Sprint Cup Series regular Kyle Busch was next on the charts, recording a top speed of 180.717 mph in his No. 54 Joe Gibbs Racing Toyota. Busch is the reigning XFINITY winner at the Midwestern track, having reached Victory Lane in October 2014.

HScott Motorsports’ Brennan Poole used a fast lap of 180.463 mph to snag the third spot, while Richard Childress Racing’s Ty Dillon (180.367 mph) and Team Penske’s Joey Logano (180.361 mph) rounded out the top five.

Reigning XFINITY champion Chase Elliott posted the 13th-fastest time in his No. 9 JR Motorsports Chevrolet.

The caution flag flew early in the session when David Starr’s No. 44 smacked the wall in Turn 2. Darrell Wallace Jr. brought out another caution late when his No. 6 Roush-Fenway Racing ride hit the wall hard and spun off Turn 4. Due to extensive damage, Wallace Jr. — who came up ninth in the session — may go to a back-up car for the remainder of the weekend at Kansas.

The XFINITY Series is back on track at Kansas at 4:30 p.m. ET for final practice (NBCSN/Live Extra).

RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series; Kansas Lotter 300 Practice; Kansas Speedway; October 16, 2015

  1. Chris Buescher
  2. Kyle Busch
  3. Brennan Poole
  4. Ty Dillon
  5. Joey Logano
  6. Daniel Suarez
  7. Austin Dillon
  8. Matt Kenseth
  9. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  10. Kevin Harvick
  11. Brian Scott
  12. Regan Smith
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Ryan Reed
  15. Elliott Sadler
  16. J.J. Yeley
  17. Ryan Sieg
  18. Dakoda Armstrong
  19. Brendan Gaughan
  20. Jeremy Clements
  21. Ross Chastain
  22. Landon Cassill
  23. Cale Conley
  24. Michael Self
  25. David Starr
  26. Mason Mingus
  27. Blake Koch
  28. T.J. Bell
  29. Eric McClure
  30. Korbin Forrister
  31. BJ McLeod
  32. Harrison Rhodes
  33. Timmy Hill
  34. Derrike Cope
  35. Morgan Shepherd
  36. Jennifer Jo Cobb
  37. Mike Harmon
  38. Joey Gase
  39. Ryan Ellis

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *