NXS: Three-Peat; Erik Jones Nets 21 Means 21 Pole Award at Bristol, Gives Gibbs Qualifying Sweep

RaceChaser Staff Featured, MidSouth, NASCAR 0 Comments

BRISTOL, Tenn. — official report — NASCAR photo —

Erik Jones launched to the 21 Means 21 Pole Award for the third straight race in Saturday’s NASCAR XFINITY Series qualifying at Bristol Motor Speedway.

Jones, a first-time winner last weekend at Texas Motor Speedway, topped the five-minute final round of knockout qualifying with a fast lap of 125.158 mph on the .533-mile track. He’ll start first in the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 Toyota for Saturday’s Drive to Stop Diabetes 300 (1:30 p.m. ET, FOX Sports 1).

The pole position was the 18-year-old NASCAR Next driver’s third of the season, third in a row and third in his XFINITY Series career.

Joey Logano, who won the pole in each of his previous XFINITY starts this season, will share the front row in Saturday afternoon’s 300-lapper after turning in the second-fastest lap at 124.768 mph in the Team Penske No. 22 Ford.

Austin Dillon, Brian Scott and Denny Hamlin completed the top five in qualifying for the series’ seventh of 33 races this season.

Defending series champion Chase Elliott will start 13th in the JR Motorsports No. 9 Chevy, after just missing the cut for the final five-minute qualifying session. XFINITY Series points leaderTy Dillon was also eliminated after Round 2 in qualifying and will start 16th in theRichard Childress Racing No. 3 Chevrolet. Both Dillon and Elliott had trouble in Friday’s final practice, but recovered after repairs.

Jones led the second round of qualifying at 124.678 mph, and Logano was fastest in the opening qualifying round at 124.800 mph. Cale Conley caused the only stoppage in qualifying, looping his No. 14 Toyota five minutes into the opening round and making slight contact with the Turn 4 retaining wall.



RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series; Coors Light Pole Qualifying; Bristol Motor Speedway; April 18, 2015

  1. Erik Jones
  2. Joey Logano
  3. Austin Dillon
  4. Brian Scott
  5. Denny Hamlin
  6. Kevin Harvick
  7. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  8. Brendan Gaughan
  9. Daniel Suarez
  10. Regan Smith
  11. John Wes Townley
  12. Elliott Sadler
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Chris Buescher
  15. J.J. Yeley
  16. Ty Dillon
  17. Brennan Poole
  18. Ross Chastain
  19. Landon Cassill
  20. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  21. Jeremy Clements
  22. Dakoda Armstrong
  23. Ryan Sieg
  24. Ryan Reed
  25. Mike Bliss
  26. Eric McClure
  27. Joey Gase
  28. Todd Bodine
  29. David Starr
  30. Morgan Shepherd
  31. Harrison Rhodes
  32. Blake Koch
  33. Cale Conley
  34. Jeff Green
  35. Peyton Sellers
  36. Derrike Cope
  37. Timmy Hill
  38. Carlos Contreras
  39. Mike Harmon
  40. Derek White

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.