NXS: JGR Teammates Erik Jones & Denny Hamlin Lead Opening XFINITY Practice at Charlotte

Kyle Souza Featured, MidSouth, NASCAR, Southeast 0 Comments

CHARLOTTE, N.C. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Streeter Lecka/Getty Images North America photo —

Joe Gibbs Racing drivers stole the show in the first of two NASCAR XFINITY Series practice sessions Thursday at Charlotte Motor Speedway.

Erik Jones — driver of the No. 20 GameStop Toyota — lead the session with a fast-time of 29.808 seconds (181.159 mph). His teammate, Denny Hamlin — driver of the No. 18 Hisense Toyota — was second with a time of 29.903 seconds (180.584 mph).

Penske Racing driver Ryan Blaney was third behind the wheel of his No. 12 (30.021 seconds/179.874 mph), while JGR driver Daniel Suarez was fourth (30.029 seconds/179.826 mph). Suarez will be in search of his first career XFINITY victory on Saturday at Charlotte.

Richard Childress Racing drivers (and brothers) Ty and Austin Dillon finished the session in fifth and sixth. They were followed by Cole Custer, Kyle Larson, Brennan Poole and Brandon Jones, who completed the balance of the top-10.

The NASCAR XFINITY Series returns to the track for their second and final practice on Thursday at 5:30 p.m. All of the practice rounds are in preparation for Saturday’s 45th Annual Hisense 300, live at Charlotte Motor Speedway.


RESULTS: NASCAR XFINITY Series Practice No. 1; Charlotte Motor Speedway; May 26, 2016

  1. Erik Jones
  2. Denny Hamlin
  3. Ryan Blaney
  4. Daniel Suarez
  5. Ty Dillon
  6. Austin Dillon
  7. Cole Custer
  8. Kyle Larson
  9. Brennan Poole
  10. Brandon Jones
  11. Elliott Sadler
  12. Justin Allgaier
  13. Joey Logano
  14. J.J. Yeley
  15. Jeremy Clements
  16. Darrell Wallace Jr.
  17. Blake Koch
  18. Ryan Sieg
  19. Brendan Gaughan
  20. Ryan Reed
  21. Jeb Burton
  22. Drew Herring
  23. Ross Chastain
  24. Dakota Armstrong
  25. Jeff Green
  26. Garrett Smithley
  27. Ryan Preece
  28. B.J. McLeod
  29. Harrison Rhodes
  30. T.J. Bell
  31. Carl Long
  32. Timmy Hill
  33. Joey Gase
  34. Ray Black Jr.
  35. Martin Roy
  36. Cody Ware
  37. Morgan Shepherd
  38. Derrick Cope
  39. Mike Harmon
  40. Spencer Gallagher


About the Writer

Kyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at: [email protected]

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online: [email protected]

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *