NWMT: Keeping to the Status Quo; Reigning Champion Doug Coby Snatches Icebreaker 150 Pole

RaceChaser Staff Featured, NASCAR 0 Comments

THOMPSON, Conn. – official series release — Getty Images for NASCAR photo —

The more things change, the more they stay the same.

Defending NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour champion Doug Coby added a fifth career pole to his impressive resume, capturing the top spot for tomorrow’s season-opening Icebreaker 150 at Thompson Speedway Motorsports Park. Coby’s Coors Light Pole Award winning lap was a blistering 18.679 seconds at 120.456 mph in the No. 2 Dunleavy’s Repair/HEX Performance Chevrolet.

Bobby Santos, who won the Icebreaker in 2010 on his way to the season title that year, was second fastest at 18.735/120.096 in the No. 44 Curb Records/Tinio Corp./Dan Kelley Chevrolet. Corey LaJoie, making only his second NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour start, will roll off in third position tomorrow after a fast lap at 18.762/119.923 behind the wheel of the No. 15 15-40 Connection Chevrolet.

Ted Christopher will start fourth, looking to end a 42-race winless drought and capture his fifth career Icebreaker win.  Reigning Sunoco Rookie of the Year Timmy Solomito was fifth fastest.

Eric Goodale, Woody Pitkat, Patrick Emerling, Ryan Preece and Derek Ramstrom rounded out the top ten in qualifying in the field of 35 cars, the largest since the 2010 Icebreaker.

Tomorrow’s NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour activities begin with a driver autograph session from 10:30-11:30 a.m., with the green flag scheduled for 3:30 pm.

The 41st Annual Icebreaker 150 will air on NBCSN on Friday, April 17 at a time to be determined.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.