NSL: Clauson Holds Off Lasoski for First-Career National Sprint League Win at I-80 Speedway

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Other Sprint Cars, Plains, Sprints & Midgets 0 Comments

GREENWOOD, Neb. — official series release — Rob Kocak photo —

Bryan Clauson led from start to finish Friday night to win his first FVP National Sprint League feature Friday night at I-80 Speedway, claiming the checkers in the 25-lap Fearless 410 finale and banking $3,000 as a result.

Clauson drove his Matt Wood Racing No. 17w into the lead from outside the front row. Fellow row one starter Bill Balog dogged him early, pulling even with the leader on lap nine before Mike Moore spun, bringing out one of two cautions in the event.

Clauson led Balog, Terry McCarl, Danny Lasoski and Ian Madsen back to green flag racing.  McCarl used the low side to wrestle second from Balog on lap 12.  Four laps later, Lasoski followed McCarl by Balog into third.  Back in the pack, Brian Brown and Dominic Scelzi, who was making his first career NSL start, were exchanging sixth.

Tasker Phillips slowed with seventeen laps complete, bringing the final caution flag. Clauson led a low-riding McCarl, Lasoski, Balog and Madsen back to green. McCarl hit the cushion to try to run down Clauson, but Lasoski used the low side to move by McCarl into second on lap 20.  Brown had a good restart, moving by Madsen for fifth, and snatching fourth from Balog late.

Clauson was steady on the cushion.  Lasoski made a late diving attempt at him, but fell short.  McCarl was third, ahead of Brown and Balog.

“I looked up and saw the ‘2’ up on the board,” said Clauson. “If you win one of these races, you’re going to have to deal with him sooner or later. We were strong enough to hold him off.  I can’t thank these guys behind me enough…Matt Wood for giving me an opportunity, and Shane Bowers taking a big leap of faith and coming over and taking this job.  We’ve been in a bit of a slump the last two or three weeks, but what a way to break out of it with our first NSL victory.”

“(Clauson) was on the preferred line,” said Lasoski.  “He wasn’t moving. I knew that. We had to go somewhere else. I’m very proud of our GoMuddy.com, MC Power team. We didn’t have a good car in the heat, but they worked their tails off on this thing.”


RESULTS: FVP National Sprint League; I-80 Speedway; October 2, 2015

FVP A-Main (25 laps): 1. 17w, Bryan Clauson, Noblesville, IN [2]; 2. 2, Danny Lasoski, Dover, MO [6]; 3. 24, Terry McCarl, Altoona, IA [4]; 4. 21, Brian Brown, Grain Valley, MO [5]; 5. 17B, Bill Balog, Brookfield, WI [1]; 6. 18, Ian Madsen, St. Mary’s, NSW, Aust. [3]; 7. 2KS, Craig Dollansky, Elk River, MN [18]; 8. 33, Dominic Scelzi, Fresno, CA [10]; 9. 3, Tim Kaeding, San Jose, CA [7]; 10. o5, Brad Loyet, Sunset Hills, MO [13]; 11. 17A, Austin McCarl, Altoona, IA [8]; 12. 09, Matt Juhl, Tea, SD [11]; 13. 11, Steve Kinser, Bloomington, IN [21]; 14. 12, Lynton Jeffrey, Prairie City, IA [12]; 15. 2L, Logan Forler, Boise, ID [14]; 16. 81, Jack Dover, Springfield, NE [23]; 17. 55, Brooke Tatnell, Sans Souci, NSW, Aust. [16]; 18. 4, Dakota Hendrickson, Omaha, NE [22]; 19. 17, Josh Baughman, Odessa, TX [20]; 20. 13, Mark Dobmeier, Grand Forks, ND [15]; 21. 1B, Jake Bubak, Arvada, CO [17]; 22. 7TAZ, Tasker Phillips, Pleasantville, IA [9]; 23. 4A, Jon Agan, Knoxville, IA [19]; 24. 69, Michael Moore, Des Moines, IA [24].

Lap Leader: Bryan Clauson 1-25.

KSE Hard-Charger: Craig Dollansky +11

CREDIT: FVP National Sprint League

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *