NSCS: Freaky Fast in Dover; Kevin Harvick Leads Opening Sprint Cup Practice On The Monster Mile

Kyle Souza Featured, NASCAR 0 Comments

DOVER, Del. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Sean Gardner/Getty Images North America photo —

Kevin Harvick returned to the top of the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series speed charts on Friday at Dover International Raceway.

The Stewart-Haas Racing driver topped the first and only practice session of the day with his No. 4 Jimmy John’s Chevrolet with a fast time of 21.799 seconds (165.145 mph). The lap was put down towards the end of the session in qualifying trim, since rain is threatening the area for qualifying later this afternoon.

Dale Earnhardt Jr. was second in the session, with a fast lap of 21.857 seconds (164.707 mph) behind the wheel of his No. 88 Nationwide Chevrolet for Hendrick Motorsports. Joe Gibbs Racing drivers Kyle Busch (21.886 seconds/164.489 mph) and Carl Edwards (21.932 seconds/164.114 mph) were third and fourth, while Roush Fenway Racing driver Ricky Stenhouse Jr. rounded out the top-five (21.976 seconds/163.815 mph).

Denny Hamlin, Martin Truex Jr., Ryan Newman, Kurt Busch and Matt Kenseth completed spots 6-10 in the opening practice round. Danica Patrick lost the rear-end on her No. 10 early in the session, collecting Tony Stewart and Jamie McMurray in her oil. All three drivers were forced to unload the back-up car, but got at least two laps on the track each in the remainder of the session.

Weather permitting, the NASCAR Sprint Cup Series will qualify for Sunday’s race live on Fox Sports 1 at 3:45 p.m. ET.


RESULTS: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Practice No. 1; Dover International Raceway; May 14, 2016:

  1. Kevin Harvick
  2. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  3. Kyle Busch
  4. Carl Edwards
  5. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  6. Denny Hamlin
  7. Martin Truex Jr.
  8. Ryan Newman
  9. Kurt Busch
  10. Matt Kenseth
  11. Kasey Kahne
  12. Austin Dillon
  13. Chase Elliott
  14. Brad Keselowski
  15. Aric Almirola
  16. Greg Biffle
  17. Brian Scott
  18. Ryan Blaney
  19. Paul Menard
  20. AJ Allmendinger
  21. Jimmie Johnson
  22. Joey Logano
  23. Kyle Larson
  24. Jamie McMurray
  25. Trevor Bayne
  26. Casey Mears
  27. David Ragan
  28. Michael McDowell
  29. Matt DiBenedetto
  30. Chris Buescher
  31. Danica Patrick
  32. Clint Bowyer
  33. Regan Smith
  34. Tony Stewart
  35. Landon Cassill
  36. Cole Whitt
  37. Michael Annett
  38. Reed Sorenson
  39. Jeffrey Earnhardt
  40. Cole Whitt


About the Writer

Kyle Souza is an aspiring Journalism major at the Roger Williams University in Bristol, R.I.  Souza is Race Chaser Online’s New England motorsports insider, covering everything from the NASCAR Whelen Modified Tour to the NASCAR Whelen All American Series and the PASS North Super Late Models.

When not writing, Souza works at the Seekonk Speedway as the track’s Friday night public address announcer and press writer, and is also the Media Director for both the Granite State Pro Stock Series and the Tri Track Open Modified Series.

Email Kyle at: kylesouza34@gmail.com

Follow on Twitter: @Kouza34

Email Race Chaser Online: news@racechaseronline.com

Follow RCO on Twitter: @RaceChaserNews


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.