NSCS: Still Rolling; Joey Logano Scores Coors Light Pole in Atlanta

Marshall Gabell Featured, NASCAR, Southeast 0 Comments

HAMPTON, Ga. and CHARLOTTE, N.C. – Report by Race Chaser Online Mid-Atlanta Correspondent Marshall Gabell – Kevin Cox/Getty Images North America photo –

The past week has been one to remember for Middletown, Connecticut native Joey Logano.

After winning on the grandest stage in stock car racing at the Daytona 500 last weekend, Logano put his No. 22 Ford atop the scoring pylon again on Friday night, earning the Coors Light Pole for Sunday’s Folds of Honor QuikTrip 500 at Atlanta Motor Speedway.

“Wow, what a great car, to win the Daytona 500 and come back and put it on the pole here at Atlanta,” Logano said. “The first time I came here, I qualified 42nd. I’ve always remembered that. To be able to be on both ends of it now is pretty special.”

Along with the effort being his first-ever front row start in Atlanta, it also marks the ninth pole of Logano’s career, a position he has won from two previous times.

““I really want to win here,” Logano expressed. “I lived here for six years. I used to race on the quarter-mile (track) out here in my Legends car for years. It’s really cool to be starting first and hopefully we can finish there.”

Defending NASCAR Sprint Cup Series champion and 2001 Atlanta winner Kevin Harvick qualified second with Chip Ganassi Racing’s Jamie McMurray capping off the top three positions.

Joe Gibbs Racing drivers Denny Hamlin, who won at Atlanta during the 2012 season, and Carl Edwards rounded out the top five spots.

Kyle Larson, Ryan Newman, Sam Hornish Jr., Dale Earnhardt Jr., and defending Atlanta winner Kasey Kahne capped off the rest of the top 10.

Despite no controversial issues with the qualifying procedure itself, like there were at Daytona, there were problems down in the tech area — where 13 drivers were unable to even make it onto the track after failing pre-qualifying inspection.

Six-time Sprint Cup champion Jimmie Johnson, Matt Kenseth, Jeff Gordon, Tony Stewart, Regan Smith, Matt DiBenedetto, Jeb Burton, Cole Whitt, Landon Cassill, Alex Bowman, Mike Wallace, Reed Sorenson, and Michael Annett all did not post a time after not making it through the tech line.

Gordon, who won the pole for the Daytona 500 last weekend, called the mishap a disappointment for all parties involved, including the sanctioning body.

“There is something wrong with this system, or there is something wrong with the time on the clock to get through,” Gordon said. “There’s no way this many good cars, talented people, that they can’t figure out how to get these cars through inspection. These guys are too smart. Yeah, we’re pushing limits, but there’s something wrong here.”

Kenseth felt like the NASCAR officials were not organized, forcing multiple teams to be unable to adjust to get through tech as the clock wound down.

“When I walked up 10 minutes before qualifying was scheduled to start there were only 14 cars on pit road, so I have a hard time believe it was the teams, “Kenseth explained. “They should really figure out how to get everyone through tech before qualifying starts, first of all. But if they can’t do that they probably should have postponed qualifying until they could get everyone through tech.”

Wallace, Sorenson, DiBenedetto, who was hoping to make his Sprint Cup debut, and Annett are the four cars who failed to make the field for Sunday’s event, which rolls off at 1 p.m. Eastern time (TV coverage on FOX).


RESULTS: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series Qualifying; Atlanta Motor Speedway; February 27, 2015

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Kevin Harvick
  3. Jamie McMurray
  4. Denny Hamlin
  5. Carl Edwards
  6. Kyle Larson
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Sam Hornish Jr.
  9. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  10. Kasey Kahne
  11. AJ Allmendinger
  12. Brad Keselowski
  13. Paul Menard
  14. Martin Truex Jr.
  15. Austin Dillon
  16. Justin Allgaier
  17. David Ragan
  18. Danica Patrick
  19. Greg Biffle
  20. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  21. Casey Mears
  22. Brett Moffitt
  23. Aric Almirola
  24. Michael McDowell
  25. Clint Bowyer
  26. David Gilliland
  27. Mike Bliss
  28. Joe Nemechek
  29. Trevor Bayne
  30. J.J. Yeley
  31. Brendan Gaughan
  32. Brian Scott
  33. Josh Wise
  34. Ron Hornaday Jr.
  35. Jeff Gordon
  36. Matt Kenseth
  37. Jimmie Johnson
  38. Regan Smith
  39. Tony Stewart
  40. Jeb Burton
  41. Cole Whitt
  42. Alex Bowman
  43. Landon Cassill

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.