NSCS: No Signs of Slowing Down; Logano Wins Pole for Sunday’s Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500

RaceChaser Staff Featured, MidSouth, NASCAR 0 Comments

MARTINSVILLE, Va. — official series release — Sarah Crabill/Getty Images North America photo —

Too much emphasis is put on track position and pit stall selection at Martinsville Speedway, NASCAR’s smallest track, and Joey Logano will start Sunday’s Goody’s Headache Relief Shot 500 (1:15 p.m. ET, NBCSN, MRN, SiriusXM) will the best of both after winning the Coors Light Pole Award with the fastest speed in qualifying Friday afternoon.

The Team Penske driver, who swept the Contender Round with three straight wins, posted the fastest lap in the third and final round, turning the .526-mile track at a clip of 98.548 mph. He’ll be looking for his fourth straight trip to Victory Lane.

He’ll be joined on the front row by fellow Chase for the NASCAR Sprint Cup driver Martin Truex Jr., who nearly matched his speed at 98.487 mph.

Row 2 is comprised of two non-Chasers in AJ Allmendinger (98.068 mph) and Jamie McMurray (98.007 mph).

The remaining Chase drivers qualified as follows: Jeff Gordon (5th), Kyle Busch (6th), Brad Keselowski (11th), Kevin Harvick (12th), Carl Edwards (14th), Kurt Busch (15th).

With just over six minutes remaining in the first round, the session was red-flagged after Kasey Kahne put his No. 5 Chevrolet into the wall. The team rolled out the backup car off the hauler and will need to start Sunday’s race from the rear.

Cars are back on track Saturday morning at 9 a.m. ET for practice, with coverage on CNBC.


RESULTS: NASCAR Sprint Cup Series; Coors Light Pole Qualifying; Martinsville Speedway; October 30, 2015

  1. Joey Logano
  2. Martin Truex Jr.
  3. A.J. Allmendinger
  4. Jamie McMurray
  5. Jeff Gordon
  6. Kyle Busch
  7. Ryan Newman
  8. Aric Almirola
  9. Kyle Larson
  10. Denny Hamlin
  11. Brad Keselowski
  12. Kevin Harvick
  13. Tony Stewart
  14. Carl Edwards
  15. Kurt Busch
  16. Danica Patrick
  17. Clint Bowyer
  18. Matt Kenseth
  19. Casey Mears
  20. Sam Hornish Jr.
  21. Jimmie Johnson
  22. Dale Earnhardt Jr.
  23. Justin Allgaier
  24. Kasey Kahne
  25. Greg Biffle
  26. Paul Menard
  27. Landon Cassill
  28. David Ragan
  29. Ricky Stenhouse Jr.
  30. Austin Dillon
  31. Cole Whitt
  32. Trevor Bayne
  33. David Gilliland
  34. Brett Moffitt
  35. Jeb Burton
  36. Matt DiBenedetto
  37. Ryan Preece
  38. Michael Annett
  39. J.J. Yeley
  40. Kyle Fowler
  41. Alex Bowman
  42. Timmy Hill
  43. Alex Kennedy


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *