NSCHoF: Donny Schatz Garners 410 Driver of the Year Award for Eighth Time in His Career

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Midwest, Northwest, Other Sprint Cars, Plains, Sprints & Midgets, World of Outlaws Sprint Cars 0 Comments

KNOXVILLE, Iowa – official release — Dave Biro III photo —

For the eighth time in his career, Donny Schatz was voted the Driver of the Year by the North American 410 Sprint Car Poll voting panel of media members, promoters, sanctioning officials and manufacturers.

The 2015 Knoxville Nationals winner, Chico Gold Cup Race of Champions winner and World of Outlaws (WoO) champion earned all 25 first-place ballots cast in the year-end poll.

Tony Stewart, owner of the Donny Schatz sprint car, earned his eighth Team of the Year honors, though three of those have come from the North American Non-Winged Sprint Car Poll.

Those drivers ranked second through fifth, respectively, are 2015 Kings Royal winner Shane Stewart, All Star Circuit of Champions (ASCoC) champion Dale Blaney, Brad Sweet and Knoxville Raceway and National Sprint League (NSL) champion Danny Lasoski.  Rounding out the top 10 for the season, respectively, are Daryn Pittman, 2015 Central Pennsylvania Sprint Cars and Williams Grove Speedway champion Greg Hodnett, Joey Saldana, Williams Grove National Open winner and Pennsylvania Speed Week champion Stevie Smith and Kerry Madsen.

Rico Abreu will again receive the Wild Card Award for his exciting 410 sprint car performances in 2015. Chase Dietz, the top rookie at the Lincoln Speedway this past season, has earned the Rookie of the Year award in the 410 division of the North American Sprint Car Poll.

Tod Quiring of the new National Sprint League (NSL) received Promoter of the Year honors. Jack & Bonnie Elam of J&J Auto Racing will earn the Builder/Manufacturer of the Year honors for the 410 poll. The Media Member of the Year award will go to Kendra Jacobs and Steve Post of the MAVTV/MRN Winged Nation show.

CREDIT: National Sprint Car Hall of Fame

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *