NNS: Dillon Notches Second Nationwide Pole of Season at Kentucky

Ryan Kent Jr. Featured, MidSouth, NASCAR 0 Comments

SPARTA, Ky. — Report by Race Chaser Online Midwest Correspondent Ryan Kent Jr. — Andy Lyons/Getty Images North America photo — Ty Dillon will lead the stars of the NASCAR Nationwide Series to the green flag tonight at the newly-renovated Kentucky Speedway after he scored the Coors Light Pole Award for tonight’s VisitMyrtleBeach.com 300 (7:30 P.M. ET on ESPNEWS).

Dillon, posting a speed of 175.690 in the final round, had a good car during all 3 sessions and said he and his Bass Pro Shops Chevy will have a good car to battle the front runners tonight. The pole is Dillon’s second of the season and his 17th top 10 start in 2014. Dillon currently sits third in the NNS championship standings, 40 markers behind in his quest for the season-long crown.

Part-time driver for Joe Gibbs Racing, Sam Hornish Jr., qualified second at a clip of 175.245 mph in the No. 54 Monster Energy Toyota normally piloted by Kyle Busch. Brendan Gaughan, Cale Conley and Brian Scott capped the rest of the top five.

Gaughan, Conley and Scott also drive RCR Chevrolets, giving the stalwart Nationwide team four of the top five positions in tonight’s starting grid.

Points leader Chase Elliott qualified ninth in the No. 9 NAPA Auto Parts Chevrolet for JR Motorsports.

Group qualifying at the 1.5-mile track consisted of a 25-minute opening round, and the 24 fastest cars advanced to the 10-minute second round. The top 12 fastest in the second round advanced to the final five-minute round.

Last night’s ARCA polesitter Justin Boston is making his first Nationwide Series start tonight in the Joe Gibbs Racing No. 20 ZLOOP Toyota, and advanced to the final round of qualifying. He will start 12th alongside 2011 Daytona 500 champion Trevor Bayne.

Dylan Kwasniewski (13th),Chase Pistone (16th) and Austin Theriault (17th) were among those who just missed advancing to the final round.

In the first round, Roush Fenway Racing driver Ryan Reed finished 24th and was the last car to advance into the second round.


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.