NEW SMYRNA NOTES: Ryan Preece Scores Saturday Tour-Type Modified Win

Kyle Souza Asphalt Modifieds, Featured, NASCAR, Southeast, Touring Series 0 Comments

NEW SMYRNA BEACH, Fla. — Story by Race Chaser Online New England Correspondent Kyle Souza — Doug Dunleavy photo —

Did someone say redemption?

After a disqualification took away the win from Ryan Preece in the opening night of the World Series of Asphalt Racing at New Smyrna Speedway on Friday night, Preece stormed to the front and found himself carrying the black and white officially on Saturday.

J.R. Bertuccio brought the fifteen car Tour Type Modified field to the green flag with night one winner Justin Bonsignore to the outside. The initial green saw Bertuccio drive away, while drivers from second on back fought tooth and nail for positions.

The first lead change of the race came on lap six, when Bonsignore moved to the inside and took the point. He was quickly challenged and passed by Preece, who continued to show he was the dominant car in the class.

Preece was able to hold the lead on multiple restarts late in the event and held off a last lap charge by fastest qualifier Chuck Hossfeld to score the victory. The win was Preece’s first Tour Type Modified win at New Smyrna since the 2008 season.


Tour Type Modified Race Notes:

Lap Leaders: Bertuccio (1-6), Bonsignore (7), Preece (8-35)

Cautions: 4 cautions: (Lap 15, Lap 21, Lap 29, Lap 29)


RESULTS: World Series of Speedway Racing; New Smyrna Speedway; Tour-type Modifieds; Feb. 15, 2015

  1. Ryan Preece
  2. Chuck Hossfeld
  3. J.R. Bertuccio
  4. Justin Bonsignore
  5. Jimmy Zacharias
  6. Dalton Baldwin
  7. Danny Watts
  8. Brendon Bock
  9. Dylan Kopec
  10. Paul Hartwig Jr.
  11. Al Ermmarino
  12. Spencer Davis
  13. Kirk Totten
  14. Kevin Goodale
  15. Mike Bologna

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.