MOTOGP: Valentino Rossi Stuns Home Crowd with San Marino Grand Prix Victory

RaceChaser Staff Featured, International, MotoGP, Motorcycle Racing 0 Comments

MISANO ADRIATICO, Italy – official release — Yamaha photo — The home crowd went wild at Misano World Circuit Marco Simoncelli on Sunday, as Valentino Rossi took his first MotoGP victory of the season and points leader Marc Marquez finished 15th after a crash.

Nine time World Champion Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) took the lead in the early laps of the San Marino Grand Prix, after getting in front of polesitter and teammate Jorge Lorenzo and then asserting his authority in an early battle with Marquez. On the 10th lap Marquez went down at Rio corner when in second place and whilst he restarted his RC213V he could not achieve more than one point.

Rossi kept the hammer down at the front to eventually win by 1.578 seconds and reach the milestone of 5000 Grand Prix points in style. It is the 107th victory of Rossi’s remarkable career.

Lorenzo rode with determination to take another podium result and finished in second place for the fourth successive race.

Coming from fifth on the grid, Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda Team) took his ninth podium finish of the season in third place, crossing the line 1.234 seconds ahead of Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team).

It was another good ride for Dovizioso in front of the home crowd as he got the Ducati across the finish line 5.5 seconds behind winner Rossi. Likewise, Andrea Iannone (Pramac Racing) impressed in fifth place with another solid result.

Rookie Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech3) secured sixth place, 4.1 seconds ahead of his teammate Bradley Smith.

Alvaro Bautista (GO&FUN Honda Gresini), Cal Crutchlow (Ducati Team) and Yonny Hernandez (Energy T.I. Pramac Racing) completed the top 10.

Mike Di Meglio (Avintia Racing) was an early crasher, as was Danilo Petrucci (Octo IodaRacing Team). Di Meglio suffered a displaced fracture of the fourth and fifth metacarpus of his left hand and will require surgery. Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda MotoGP) also fell out of the top ten. Aleix Espargaro (NGM Forward Racing) crashed on the final lap. All the riders other than Di Meglio were uninjured.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.