MOTOGP: Marquez Ties History; Equals Doohan’s Record With 12th Win of 2014 at Sepang

RaceChaser Staff Featured, International, MotoGP, Motorcycle Racing 0 Comments

SEPANG, Malaysia — official release — MotoGP photo —

Marc Marquez equalled history with his 12th MotoGP win of the 2014 season during Sunday’s Shell Advance Malaysian Motorcycle Grand Prix.

The two-time MotoGP champion tied Mick Doohan’s single-season record as more than 80,000 fans looked on at Sepang Int’l Circuit.

Despite scorching afternoon heat at the Malaysian track, Marquez brought his Honda home ahead of Yamaha teammates Valentino Rossi and Jorge Lorenzo.

“This was one of the toughest races of the year for me physically and I’m happy to have equalled Mick Doohan’s record,” Marquez said. “We knew to expect this kind of weather in Malaysia but it was especially hot today and we all found it hard to finish the race. Halfway into the race the pace slowed down because I think everybody needed to take a breath.

“I’m happy with how I handled the race, because the first corner was a bit of a nightmare but I was able to come back to the front and stay there, whilst I cooled down my tires and brakes. I started to attack with 10 laps remaining, then made the difference when there were five laps to go.”

Lorenzo took the early initiative in the race after a crash by Dani Pedrosa (Repsol Honda) who lost the front around turn 15 while in second place. Pedrosa recovered to 11th before suffering a second crash.

Rossi (Movistar Yamaha MotoGP) took the lead at the midrace stage as he got in front of Lorenzo and was followed through by Marquez. Two laps later Marquez pushed in front of the Italian and he built up a sufficient gap to defend his lead.

Marquez’s victory is the 12th of his second season in MotoGP, equaling Mick Doohan’s record for most premier class victories in a single season. The result seals the premier class Constructor’s title for Honda and ends a run of four Yamaha victories.

Stefan Bradl (LCR Honda MotoGP) beat Bradley Smith (Monster Yamaha Tech3) to the line for fourth as the Englishman closed in on the last lap, only to run long on the final corner.

Pol Espargaro (Monster Yamaha Tech3) rode bravely to sixth place, having broken a bone in his foot in a big crash on Saturday.

Yonny Hernandez (Energy T.I. Pramac Racing) crossed the line seventh, staying upright despite having almost collided with Pol Espargaro’s rear wheel midrace.

Andrea Dovizioso (Ducati Team) was on course for fourth again before he dropped several positions to eighth in the final laps, apparently suffering from a technical issue.

The top 10 was completed by Hector Barbera (Avintia Racing) and Scott Redding (GO&FUN Honda Gresini).

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.