Millbridge Speedway: Hunter Richards Picks A Pair; Micros,Legends, Mini Cups Put on Thrilling Show

Tom Baker Carolinas Racing, Featured, Go-Karts, Midwest, Sprints & Midgets, US Legends/INEX, West 0 Comments

SALISBURY, N.C. – Story/Photo by RaceChaser Senior Editor Tom Baker – Sunshine and warm temperatures set the backdrop for a beautiful night of racing competition at the 1/6-mile Millbridge Speedway on Saturday night.  Mini Outlaws, Legends Cars, Micro Sprints and even the Mini Cups comprised an action packed evening.

Hunter Kohn got things started off right in the Mini Outlaw Beginner Box Stock division as he won both the heat and feature with his sharp looking No. 48.  Kohn drove smoothly and consistently to beat out the No. 7 of Aubrey Rose and the 19 of Tyler Dolak to score the 15-lap feature victory.

In the Intermediate Box Stock division, Hunter Richards put his Rowan Home Restoration No. 62 out front and got the best of the Fluidyne No. 11 of “D.C.” Dawson Cram to pick up the heat and 20-lap feature victories.  Hunter Murray was also in action with his No. 77 but dropped out the feature a few laps early with mechanical issues.

The Mini Cups were making their first ever appearance on a dirt track at Millbridge, and boy did they ever put on a show.  The No. 63 of Jeff Boyer dominated the feature event but behind him the action was clean and competitive all throughout the 20-lap affair.

A quartet of Legends cars took to the track next for their 20-lap feature and Casey Traxler led flag to flag to score the win just as he had done earlier in the day in the heat race.  Adam Welch, Dawson Cram and Gene Traxler rounded out the finishing order.

Fans turned their attention back to the Mini Outlaws again at this time as Hunter Richards flew solo in the Box Stock division to take the feature win.  Estella Sawyer was not able to compete in the feature with her No. 99 but she did finish second to Hunter in the heat race earlier in the night. The default victory gave Hunter his second win of the night.

The Open Outlaw division would be swept by Greg Deyarmon in his gorgeous No. 22.  Deyarmon beat out last Wednesday’s winner “Chargin Chaz” Woodward in the black No. 51 in both the heat and the 20-lap main event.  Brandon Cavich came home third in the feature with Ethan Mitchell fourth and Adam Welch fifth.

In a wild and wooly nightcap feature event, the Micro Sprints returned to Millbridge in record numbers and put on a whale of the show.  Ryan Gamble in the No. 27 and “Downtown” Jason Brown kept the fans on the edge throughout the event as they contested the win, bringing the No. 8 of Dan Jones in on the action in the early laps.

Eventually, Gamble gained some breathing room but several caution flags allowed Brown and, later, the No. 7F of Fred Prosperi, Jr. to keep him honest on restarts.

At the checkers it was Gamble with an exciting victory over Brown, Prosperi, Coby Adams in the No. 28 across the line in that order.

Finishing fifth was the No. 05F of Fred Prosperi, Sr., who was running his first race since 1996 after surviving several heart attacks and strokes which repeatedly limited his physical abilities through the years.  He was all smiles after his triumphant return to the track, promising it won’t be his last time out in the car this year.

Once again Ashly and Jeremy Burnett pulled their staff together and put on a fast-moving night of racing that was over before 10pm.  Millbridge returns to action this Wednesday, June 11th with “wingless” Mini-Outlaws in competition along with the DNQ Karts.  Practice begins at 7pm.  Check out on the web or search Facebook for Millbridge Speedway for all the necessary information!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.