MIDGETS: Sammy Swindell Rolls to Fourth Vacuworx Race of Champions Triumph

RaceChaser Staff Dirt Track Racing, Featured, Other Midgets 0 Comments

TULSA, Okla. — official series release – Patrick Smith photo –

Sammy Swindell won the Vacuworx Invitational Race of Champions for the fourth time on Tuesday night during opening night of the 29th annual Lucas Oil Chili Bowl Nationals at Tulsa Expo Raceway.

Handed the fourth starting spot by son, Kevin, in a revenge draw, Sammy had to forfeit the No. 1 draw to 1990 Chili Bowl champion John Heydenreich; something he was less than pleased about.

Even having to give up the pole, Swindell grabbed the lead on the opening lap and was only challenged on the closing lap by Bryan Clauson, who pulled nearly even with Swindell on the cushion in the final turns.

Clauson settled for second after starting 12th with Cory Kruseman, Christopher Bell and Kyle Larson completing the top five.

CREDIT: ChiliBowl.com

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.